Search similar:

uniqs

DragonLore
join:2005-08-16
Redding, CA

DragonLore

[Info] question on cost

Hello,

We are looking at having a Cisco VPN firewall installed on a new laptop to provide a VNC connection to a second location. The cost for this firewall is around $5,100. I have little experience with hardware firewalls and no experience with anything of this caliber. Can someone explain to me why it is so costly?
HELLFIRE
MVM
join:2009-11-25

HELLFIRE

MVM

What's the exact make / model of firewall you're getting / have purchased?

If this is Cisco Cisco that you've gotten -- not Cisco Small Business, not ex-Linksys By Cisco, then the
price tag can simply be explained by "why is any other enterprise piece of kit as expensive?"

Ever take a look what a fully kitted Dell/HP/IBM server costs?

Ever price out what a copy of Windows Server 2K8 costs?

What about software from the likes of Oracle or similar?

If you(r company) picked up Smartnet (Cisco's term for a service contract) as well, that adds to the price
as well, but if you want a Five 9's (ie. 99.999%) uptime, then that's what you have to pay.

Does that answer your question?

Regards
markysharkey
Premium Member
join:2012-12-20
united kingd

markysharkey to DragonLore

Premium Member

to DragonLore
said by DragonLore:

a Cisco VPN firewall installed on a new laptop

Do you mean a VPN client?
Have you considered "cloud VPN" options like Pertino, or maybe an even simpler option like Team Viewer. It all depends on exactly what the requirements are.