spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

elaine

@50.135.109.x

[Audio] Audio cuts out of HD On Demand

While watching on demand movies on xfinity the sound cuts out, getting progressively worse until it is unwatchable. It starts out ok for about 1/2 hour, then sound will cut out for a second, then again in 5 minutes, and over the course of the next 1/2 hour it gets progressively more frequent until there is mostly no sound. I have tried xfinity chat support and it doesn't work! I can't type in the chat window and it keeps saying I have left the room when I haven't.

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4

[Audio] Re: Audio cuts out of HD On Demand

x1?

telcodad

join:2011-09-16
Lincroft, NJ
kudos:7

1 edit
reply to elaine

Do you usually watch Xfinity on Demand at night?

If so, it could be that as the outside temperature drops, that your received signal levels and/or SNR are also dropping, resulting in the audio dropouts getting progressively worse.

While tuned to the XoD channel, you can check the "RF STATISTICS" diagnostic screen on the STB that shows the current signal levels, SNR and error counts. See: »[Comcast Equip] Sound Dropping Out

The problem may also affect the levels into your cable modem, resulting in the loss of connectivity with the Xfinity chat session, resulting in those "you have left the room" indications.

Please then, provide also the modem's signal and SNR readings, plus any error logs: »Comcast High Speed Internet FAQ »Viewing the Modem's Signal Levels, Firmware Version & Log Entries

andyross
Premium,MVM
join:2003-05-04
Schaumburg, IL

Normally, cooler temps result in better signals, not worse.

wolf

@74.121.100.x

What about sun spots? I'm pretty sure that's the cause of my audio dropping back to Stereo every night.

telcodad

Lincroft, NJ
reply to andyross

said by andyross:

Normally, cooler temps result in better signals, not worse.