spc
Search similar:

uniqs

Paully13x
@104.34.121.x

Paully13x

Anon

How do you get 300mbps to other rooms without running cable

I recently got the 300/20 service in Los Angeles, but I am not able to get 300 speed except when connected with cat cable. I have tried the PowerLine 600mps and outlets in the same room as the router only get me ~150. That is my current solution, just wondering what others are doing.

Thanks,

Paul
expertzero
join:2014-06-28

expertzero

I'm not an expert but you may need to get a AC router to get those speeds

maartena
Elmo
Premium Member
join:2002-05-10
Orange, CA

maartena to Paully13x

Premium Member

to Paully13x
I spent a Saturday crawling under the house and ran CAT5 cable to 2 bedrooms and to where the TV is for my media center PC. Total cost, less then $75 (I already had the 1 Gbps switch and a cat5 tool) and about 4 hours of work.

I did it the right way: I bought electrical boxes and cat5 face plates, so all I have to do is plug in. 1 Gbps to the 2 bedrooms and the TV, so when 300 Mbps gets here, I will be ready.

There really is no other way to guarantee 300 Mbps. There are some routers that have multiple antenna's and outputs that in THEORY should reach 300 Mbps, but in reality my wife's laptop gets somewhere around 150 Mbps when copying files from the 1 Gbps network. (On 802.11n). You can get an 802.11ac router, but that's going to cost you more then wired probably (since you will also need an adapter), and you will have no guarantee you will reach the speed in other rooms.

If you want full speed of 300 Mbps in a different room, I'd say it is worth it to run the cable either under the house (if you have the crawl space) or in the attic space, cut a hole in the wall for the face plate, and lower the cable into the wall from the attic (will probably need to drill) or drill a small hole in the bottom if coming from the crawl space. In my opinion, it's going to be a saturday morning well spent.
mikeluscher159
join:2011-09-04