Search similar:

uniqs
jsouth
Jsouth
join:2000-12-12
Wichita, KS

jsouth

2002 Impala starting problems

I have a 3.8 liter 2002 Chevy impala that I am having problems with. My interior lights come on and the radio and the gauge lights all come on but I have had 2 instances now where my car will not crank over. I turn the key and there is is nothing. Not even clicking but the lights come on. I had the battery tested but it came back good with 776 cranking amps out of 800. The car will start right up after a few tries after that it runs fine and starts on the 1st try. I don't know what to check.

StephenRC
join:2013-11-02
Satellite Beach, FL

2 recommendations

StephenRC

Starter has dead spot, replace it.
jsouth
Jsouth
Wichita, KS

jsouth

Where is it located. I am kind of new with engine repairs also what is a good price for one?

holdthephone
@69.118.94.x

holdthephone

Anon

Please do not blindly replace the starter, if you do not hear a click the relay is likely not being energized, this has nothing to do with the starter...

I would venture a guess it may have to do with anti theft, however I would let someone else chime in on that. I try to stay as far away as possible from those kinda issues so my experience in that area is lacking.

Tex
Dave's not here
Premium Member
join:2012-10-20

Tex to jsouth

Premium Member

to jsouth
I'm thinking ignition switch.

Speaking of ignition switch, have you seen this?

Anonymous_
Anonymous
Premium Member
join:2004-06-21

Anonymous_ to jsouth

Premium Member

to jsouth
does the security light come on?

if so bad key or or faulty ignition cylinder.

is the key worn out?

does everything just go dead? its a bad key or faulty ignition cylinder.

I'd get another key cheapest to replace first.
PrntRhd
Premium Member
join:2004-11-03
Fairfield, CA

PrntRhd to jsouth

Premium Member

to jsouth
First thing is to clean the battery terminals.
Check the ground strap/cable for tightness.
Check the neutral safety switch.