Search similar:

uniqs
PX Eliezer1
Premium Member
join:2013-03-10
Zubrowka USA

PX Eliezer1

Premium Member

Why so many minutes to reboot SA4250HD set top box?

As the title says....

I am not an engineer, so this is as much a request for information as a complaint.

After a split-second power drop last night, the Scientific Atlanta cable box needed to reboot.

It seemed to take upwards of 5 minutes this time.

Kept flashing things like HOLD, WAIT, BURP, WAIT MORE.

My question:

If all sorts of computers, tablets, smartphones, etc, can boot in 30-90 seconds, why does this thing need several minutes??
dm145
join:2009-12-12
Clifton, NJ

dm145

Well for starters it is a lot older tech than tablets and smartphones. Less memory and CPU speed.

gambitNJ
join:2012-11-15
Your Mom

gambitNJ to PX Eliezer1

to PX Eliezer1
It's archaic and belongs in the scrap heap

EliteData
EliteData
Premium Member
join:2003-07-06
Philippines

EliteData to PX Eliezer1

Premium Member

to PX Eliezer1
use a small UPS on it.
TheWiseGuy
Dog And Butterfly
MVM
join:2002-07-04
East Stroudsburg, PA

TheWiseGuy to PX Eliezer1

MVM

to PX Eliezer1
Let's see. Do all sorts of devices need to sync the downstream and upstream on their Docsis Modem? Do all sorts of devices need to authorize service? I remember when there was an off and on power outage some years ago and my boxes took a lot longer than 5 minutes. They would go on and by the time they had synced the power went back off. Still I agree the wait is frustrating.

momcat1
No Relation To The Bobcat
join:2002-10-21
Wappingers Falls, NY

momcat1 to PX Eliezer1

to PX Eliezer1
Our boxes are all SA4250HD's. They are all on UPSes. They all take a minimum of 20 minutes to recover from a reboot. They take a long time to recover guide data as well. Hence, why we avoid a reboot at all costs.
PX Eliezer1
Premium Member
Zubrowka USA

PX Eliezer1 to TheWiseGuy

Premium Member

to TheWiseGuy
said by TheWiseGuy: