join:2001-07-13
USA

1 recommendation

TechyDad to Kuro

Premium Member

to Kuro

Re: Caps Are To Kill Internet Video

said by Kuro :

People are voting with their wallet that they want one thing and rather than change the model to fit that they are throwing a fit to stick with the old one.

Sadly, while people are trying to vote with their wallets, the big ISPs have a monopoly (or duopoly) on Internet access and so can enforce policies regardless of what the customers are saying they want. For example, my only choice for wired broadband service is Time Warner Cable. (No FIOS in my area.) If TWC decided that there would be a 50GB cap and $5 per GB overage fees, I could complain but my only options would be a) pay them or b) go without Internet. (Given that I'm a web developer, B isn't really an option.)

Kuro
@75.151.50.x

Kuro to 78036364

Anon

to 78036364
I'm saying for me it costs $50 for 25/5 (not sure on the upload) stand alone internet or $40 for that and basic cable bundle.

newview
Ex .. Ex .. Exactly
Premium Member
join:2001-10-01
Parsonsburg, MD

newview to 78036364

Premium Member

to 78036364
Whatever your assumptions of what the modern day family should look like doesn't negate the fact that current "caps that aren't caps" are designed to benefit Comcast and not the subscriber or their families

IowaCowboy
Lost in the Supermarket
Premium Member
join:2010-10-16
Springfield, MA

IowaCowboy to TechyDad

Premium Member

to TechyDad
You could also send them a message by buying your TV from a DIFFERENT provider. If enough of us bought our TV from Dish/DirecTV then Comcast would realize they're on the losing end. Caps are to protect their CATV revenues but you don't have to feed into their negative behavior by switching to satellite. It doesn't count against internet caps and it cuts into cable tv revenue.

v6movement
@206.51.28.x

v6movement to IPPlanMan

Anon

to IPPlanMan
said by IPPlanMan: