Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

flash123

join:2001-12-26
Piscataway, NJ

[OOL] Reporting peering partners path slowdown

Hi all,
I tried through Optimum Customer Service reporting slowdown on upload through Lightpath.net peering to Cogentco.com and Level3 handoff. The person did not investigate beyond my connection even through I sent evidence of drops on those nodes. I know there is some kind of "CoS/thottling" or drops through the path since I tested to two nodes going though similar path ISP nodes (see »www.speedtest.net Aurora, IL as one destination). If I test to other ISPs on speedtest.net in the Chicago area, I may or may not see similar issue depending on path out of lightpath.net so I know it is path issue since the ISP nodes that are the similar are Lighpath and Cogentco to two InterNAP destinations. Since I deal with ISPs all around the world, I have little more experience than average home user to know of either CoS/thottling or drop packets without have all for the tools at my disposal but home users support normally seems to be only investigate up to residental node in most cases.

What mechanism is available to get to ISP higher tier support based on my observation since this always is one of the problems with reporting peering ISP issue with any vendor and seems worst for residential users who may be reported possible actual peering issue.

NOTE: I also have ISP Cogent as one of my other business ISP support mechanism and InterNAP but Cablevision does not seem to have similar mechanism in place for residental users. It would be different if I was not willing to help and make the time to make sure similar COS/throttling is being observed

frdrizzt

join:2008-05-03
Ronkonkoma, NY
kudos:3
You can try direct forum here if you aren't getting what you need over the phone. Can you post the traceroutes & pings here to show this slowdown? That is required for any escalation of this nature. Also is it all day, or just intermittent?

flash123