dslreports logo

All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
xow
join:2014-09-06

xow

DIY firewall/router from old PC (with any *nix)

This particular PC is a used Pentium 4 with 1GB RAM. I use a paid VPN service called CyberGhostVPN and want the connection to be always on instead of having to log out and in every time my computer goes to sleep (which I know can be avoided by changing power settings (I'd rather not do that)) or when I have to reboot it. I also want it so I can get one VPN connection to serve multiple devices (which I already asked about).

The connection is OpenVPN and I think the encryption is 256 with, like, 4096 "hand shakes" or something. Sorry I'm very new to internet security, despite me wanting to do this for years. My bandwidth is 20 - 25 down and 3 - 6 up (in Mbps). However, depending on the server I use, my bandwidth can be increased to as much as 107Mbps down or decreased to as low as 2Mbps down.

I basically want to turn the old PC I mentioned into a *nix router/firewall using either a setup like this:

(Devices) >> (wireless nic of PC) >> (Ethernet nic of PC) >> (modem/router, provided by Comcast) >> (connection to internet via coaxial cable).

or a setup like this:

(Devices) >> (standard commercial wireless router) >> (Ethernet nic #1 of PC)>> (ethernet nic #2 of PC)>> (modem router, provided by comcast)>> connection to internet via coaxial cable.

Again, I've wanted to do this for quite some time, but it always seems too complicated for me. If anyone has any suggestions, as far as my setup goes, which OS I pick, or ANYTHING else at all. Please do leave a reply.

Thanks for reading!!
HarryH3
Premium Member
join:2005-02-21

HarryH3

Premium Member

It's quite likely that your ancient P4 system draws way more power than your newer system. It would cost you less to just leave your newer system on when not in use than to leave the P4 running 24/7.