uniqs

FrankCanton
join:2010-11-17
Brooklyn, NY

FrankCanton

[Need Info] Switching from Dialup to DSL Newbie

Hello dslreports forum.

I Need to get residential DSL.

I am completely in the dark about (PC) DSL (beyond knowing I have to have a network card and a Modem). My dialup ISP (localnet.com) does not provide DSL to my location. I am in Brooklyn, NY.

I am a bit overwhelmed but I am a diligent student/forum interacter. Can anyone set me on the first step??
Thank you in advance!

PhoenixDown
FIOS is Awesome
Premium Member
join:2003-06-08
Fresh Meadows, NY

PhoenixDown

Premium Member

Hi Frank,

what are you using the service for? Sounds like you just browse email and web?

FrankCanton
Brooklyn, NY

FrankCanton

Hi Phoenix and thanks for the reply.

Right there is a question that has me thinking. Yes, browsing and email, but now I need to be able to see YouTube/streaming video, and overall have a faster experience. I also would like to transfer my land line number to something like Basictalk/Magicjack etc.

Perhaps there's a DSL for dummies kind of resource on this site or via recommendation?

Frankly (no pun) I feel this forum is a better place to start since I believe it has a more knowledgeable, trustworthy and unbiased user base and I'd be able to share my (eventual) discoveries with others. (I always had a preference for the forum system).

pjsutton
join:2013-06-25
Kempton, PA

pjsutton to FrankCanton

to FrankCanton
There's not much to it. Just call up your telco and see if it's available. (Being in NYC, my guess is you have Verizon?) If it's not available, check the cable company. Even the smallest package would be fine for what you want to do.

FrankCanton
Brooklyn, NY

FrankCanton

Thanks pjsutton,