join:2001-10-13
North Las Vegas, NV

billaustin

MVM

[ALL] Signal Questions / Amp Location

Click for full size
Click for full size
Click for full size
I'm a new Cox Customer. I have 25/5 Business Service with Telephone installed on August 8th. I've been using 10/896 DSL for seven years, and Cox finally ran cable down my street in June. The installer had to use an amp to get the signal levels up to an acceptable point, but I'm not sure it is in the ideal location.

The drop from the street is overhead, about 75 feet. It goes inside to the old OTA splice point, and then connects to a single cable out to the modem. The run is about 160 feet to the next junction point. The splitter was replaced with a single junction, and then it runs about 30 feet to the modems. The internet and phone modems are each connected to an output port on the amp.

Most of the time, everything seems to work fine. I have Netwatch setup in the router. It pings the gateway every minute, and sends me a text when it fails, and then when it recovers. Sometimes it will go hours with no problem, and sometimes I'll get a burst of 10 to 30 all at once. It seems to average about six drops during the night and about 18 throughout the day.

Any comments and suggestions are welcome. I've attached screenshots of the signal levels.

AnonPhx
@70.209.66.x

AnonPhx

Anon