spc
Search similar:

uniqs

planetkaren
@184.96.253.x

planetkaren

Anon

[Qwest] CL modem buy one renting or cheaper one on ebay

Total newbie here but smart enough to find this site. I currently lease Q1000z modem/router from Century Link. Want to buy one to save $ and based on this site and one other considering Q1000z instead of c1000a.
QUESTION: should I purchase the Q1000z I'm leasing for $99 or one for $40ish on ebay/Amazon? How hard is it to set up new modem for someone who has no knowledge in that area?
BadMagpie
join:2011-02-05

BadMagpie

It's not too tricky, it boils down to contacting tech support or someone at the CenturyLink store to get your PPPoE login information, if you don't have it already. After that it's about a 5 minute setup. I've posted more information here:

»Purchase Zyxel Wireless Modem Rather than Lease from Century Link?
brad152
join:2006-07-27
Chicago, IL

brad152 to planetkaren

to planetkaren
Really all you have to do is hard reset the Q1000z when you get it, then it should take you to a walled garden where it will auto configure itself once it gets some details from you.

It's really easy and i'd just buy it offline instead of CL if i were you.
coryw
join:2013-12-22
Flagstaff, AZ

coryw to planetkaren

to planetkaren
Even at $99, you're going to be saving money by buying the Q1000z you're already using pretty quickly, should you choose that route, but if you do buy one online, just buy something Qwest or CenturyLink branded (Going with a Q1000z is a pretty good bet) and as brad152 said, hard-reset it (using the information here) and it'll take you to the walled garden, which sets everything up for you.

Kosh
We are all Kosh
Premium Member
join:2005-11-16
Z'ha'dum

Kosh to planetkaren

Premium Member

to planetkaren
Like the others said, the Q1000z is pretty easy to set up and work with, as it's all in one.