spc
Search similar:

uniqs
johnl1979
join:2014-10-11
Jackson, TN

johnl1979

building a simple personal wisp

First of all i would like to say i barely know what a backhaul is so be gentle please lol. Anyway , on to the question. My father lives right at the end of the hardline for a cable company and i can get 60mb internet installed at his house which by gps is 4.3 miles from my house....in the wrong direction. (Away from cable internet service availability,actually away from anything besides satellite and a wisp with a terrible reputation) so, i want to order the cable at his home in my name and wirelessly bridge it to my house. I am aware i need to check elevations, los, but other than this i know nothing. We are within 50 ft or so elevation wise, i am actually a cable/internet/phone installer so i have access to lots of things most people wont (certain tools, rg11 cable,rg45 etc.) But i have no experience with wireless at this distance. Can someone help me out with the steps to get this done? Equipment recommendations etc? I would greatly appreciate any help. I will answer any questions promptly as this is super important to me, im used to fast internet and im about to go to NO internet if icant figure this out. (Im moving from the city to be near my father)

WHT
join:2010-03-26
Rosston, TX

1 recommendation

WHT

Not really a WISP per se, but more like a simple extension of an existing internet source to a single user. There are several onlien tools to verify the line-of-sight path.
»www.ligowave.com/linkcalc/
»airlink.ubnt.com/ but buggy at some elevations
»www.cplus.org/rmw/rmonline.html
»www.towercoverage.com/
davidhoffman
Premium Member
join:2009-11-19
Warner Robins, GA

2 edits

1 recommendation

davidhoffman to johnl1979

Premium Member

to johnl1979
1. Do you have an absolutely clear line of sight from your location to his location? Can you actually see his house from your house?