Search similar:

uniqs
batsona
Maryland
join:2004-04-17
Ellicott City, MD

batsona

VZ dropped PPPoe for DHCP??

I'm an IT person by trade, and when something like this happens, I need to hit the liquor store... Read on...

At just about 12:00a this past Friday, VZ requested that my firewall renew its address, which it did (PPPoe). It then did the same about 3-4min later at about 12:03a. This time, my firewall complained for the rest of the morning, and all weekend:

Oct 19 06:58:58 My-Firewall pppd[2694]: Timeout waiting for PADO packets

When I got back from my weekend trip, I tried all 4,978 things that one usually tries:

a.)power-cycle firewall
b.)power-cycle switch
c.)re-seat all cables
d.) power-cycle ONT
e.) Connecting laptop directly to ONT (which successfully received a DHCP offer).

Then I deleted & re-built the config for my external interface on my firewall*. Multiple times. I even tried DHCP as well as PPPoe, and nothing worked. Then I got medieval. I got Wireshark out. Both PPPoe discoveries were going out, and DHCP discoveries were going out, but not answered.

After working this for 1.5 hours, DHCP magically started working - which is odd, because I've been on PPPoe since installation in 2005. I bounced the firewall a few times, and DHCP got me the same IP address just fine.

SO, PPPoe stopped working at midnight on Friday, and was down all weekend. Then i worked things for almost 2h, then DHCP magically works (which is how I'm writing this...)

*My firewall is a freeware version of this product. The freeware version stopped being supported when Vyatta was acquired by Brocade: »www.brocade.com/products ··· dex.page
PJL
join:2008-07-24
Long Beach, CA

PJL

So us your interface with the Verizon network a Verizon Actiontec router? If it was, they probably would have automatically reconfigured your router from PPPoe to DHCP. They have been moving accounts off of PPPoe.
batsona
Maryland
Ellicott City, MD

1 recommendation

batsona