Immer
Gentleman
Premium Member
join:2010-01-07
Evans, GA

Immer

Premium Member

[Classes] 6.0.2 Monk

While I'm still learning the finer points of Mistweaving, I have a gripe regarding the renewing mist and uplift mechanics. There is so much RNG in this that it feels like I have no real control over uplift to make it a reliable chi spender.

If the dmg is light, the renewing mist smart-heal-hop generally falls on those who took splash dmg and heals folks up so I don't need to uplift. I still need to keep the renewing mist spreading because it's duration is low and trying to keep it on 6 people takes some focus. When dmg is high, the renewing mist spreads to 3 folks quickly, but the 8 sec cd means I might have to uplift 3 targets that really need it, plus 2 or 3 that already had it from the low dmg phase but may or may not need it now... and there's a cast time on uplift (not long).

Maybe the big problem is that I was in a sloppy LFR, so better raid discipline will make this less of a problem... but casting uplift for the sake of only 3 of the people with renewing mist on them actually needing the heal got frustrating... and then watching all of those other health bars with no renewing mist just keep falling... not benefiting from the uplift. Chi sphere detonation is also a gamble (that was apparently nerfed) because I need folks to be in range of the spheres for that to do any good. So I have to assess everyone's proximity to spheres as well as guage who the lucky 6 were to have renewing mist on them (because I only determine 2 of the six and the first has to be planned at least 9 seconds out).

Monk healing is like playing speed chess. It's fun, but frustrating when I make a poor guess in the moment and then have to hope something goes my way to save lives. Priest and Druid healing has so much more of a sense of control, this is taking a lot of getting used to.

okay, end rant. Any mistweaver tips for handling these frustrations would be most appreciated.

P Ness