Search similar:

uniqs

Rexter
Libertas, Aequitas, Veritas
join:2002-11-17
cloud 9

Rexter

Brother MFC-7840W

I had it installed via network. I've been using it fine for several years, but the other day it stopped printing from the computer. You can scan to the computer with no problem, and you can use it as a copy machine just fine. After much trouble shooting, I decided to just completely uninstall, and reinstall. Same problem, so I connected it with a USB cable. Still same issue, so I uninstalled, and reinstalled again with USB. Still same thing. Put it back on the network, verify IP and such, and tried to install it on another computer. Same exact issue. I was able to find it on the network, and get it installed, but it won't print. The print job times out, and shows a print job failed message. The LCD screen on the printer says Receiving data. Now I did a fresh install with USB on yet another computer. Still same problem. Reading the great and powerful Google, I found some people saying that this would be caused by a drum issue. The status screen says that I still have 18% drum life left, and that doesn't make sense to me anyway since it copies just fine. Any ideas?
iowaboy
Premium Member
join:2004-02-28
Fairfield, IA

iowaboy

Premium Member

Remove the Drum and Cartridge and put them back in. Then Press Clear/Back.
To confirm you are installing a new
drum, press 1.
i When the LCD shows Accepted, close
the front cover.
I got these instructions from my manual for my Brother MFC-7840w. Do this anytime you replace the drum. Maybe this will fix your issue.

Rexter
cloud 9

Rexter

I've been asked what OS I am using. The first computer is Windows 7, the other computer I spoke of is running Windows XP.
Rexter

Rexter to iowaboy

to iowaboy