dslreports logo

All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
avze
join:2013-08-19

avze

[iPhone] IPhone 6 Unlocked from Apple Store?

Hi

If I wanted to get an UNLOCKED iPhone 6, will I able to get one from a Apple store or a similar store that sells iPhones?

I want to get one with no contract at all, just an Unlocked version and insert a SIM card and get like a monthly plan or something with Voice and Text only. For Data services, most of it would be on Wi-Fi

Preferably, I would want to choose T Mobile as my carrier.

BTW, I am very new to the iPhone. Please explain. Thanks!

koolman2
Premium Member
join:2002-10-01
Anchorage, AK

koolman2

Premium Member

The iPhones are all locked upon release. There have been some reports of contract-free T-Mobile models being unlocked, but I wouldn't trust it to be permanent.

iPhone 6/6+ should be available unlocked from Apple eventually. Historically, it's been 2-3 months after launch.
Daemon
Premium Member
join:2003-06-29
Washington, DC

Daemon

Premium Member

said by koolman2:

The iPhones are all locked upon release. There have been some reports of contract-free T-Mobile models being unlocked, but I wouldn't trust it to be permanent.

iPhone 6/6+ should be available unlocked from Apple eventually. Historically, it's been 2-3 months after launch.

All Verizon models are unlocked, whether subsidized or not, per an agreement with the FCC Verizon signed when purchasing spectrum some years ago. T-Mobile phones purchased directly from Apple are unlocked, but phones purchased from a T-Mobile store are locked to T-Mobile. (For T-Mobile, this has been confirmed many times over on MacRumors, as well as via my own personal experience.)