spc
Search similar:

uniqs
russb52
join:2014-01-19
Port Orchard, WA

russb52

[General] Voip Killer?

Let me first say that I am a strong advocate of voip technology I have been using voip for many years with several different companies qwest voip,phonepower, nettalk and callcentric. I like unlimited plans because I like to pay one flat rate for my phone service with no surprises.

I recently helped a friend of my dad (he is 81 years old on a limited budget) Install VERIZON Wireless Home Phone and I have to say it works better than I expected. I used a set of Vtech/ATT DECT cordless phones (CL84109) separated the base unit 10 feet from the receiver and it works! Voice quality is good and here is the big surprise, IT HAS CID NAME & NUMBER incoming and outgoing.

I later found out that cid name is a extra add-on for $1.99 a month that verizon added on at the store when he purchased it. AT&T wireless also has a home phone unit as does Sprint. All three carriers charge $19.99 a month for unlimited nationwide calling with AT&T you can purchase monthly refills for their home phone service discounted at target for $16.00 also walmart sells their “straight talk” home phone (uses Verizon) for $15.00 a month and no tax if you refill online. One huge advantage this has over VOIP is it has a battery in the unit and will work if the power goes out.

With these prices it is actually cheaper than I am currently paying with PhonePower for the unlimited plan. I don't have any plans to switch but I am wondering if the voip companies see this as competition and are they worried.
GusHerb
join:2011-11-04
Chicago, IL

GusHerb