Clean Up Our Oceans
Premium Member
join:2001-08-22
Westville, NJ

4 edits

dolphins

Premium Member

How to wipe and restore Mac Pro to factory specs

Hello all you Apple people. I've recently been asked to sell a Mac Pro »MAC PRO What is it worth? due to a death in the family. I have no experience with OS X. I will be saving all personal files to a 500GB portable drive. Once I do so I need to wipe (DBAN) the HDD and restore OS X without restore disks. Can someone guide me through the steps?

EDIT:

MAC PRO 4.1 (2009)
Model: A1289
EMC: 2313
Serial: YM9300CN4PC

Specifications:

Mac OS X 10.5.6 10.6.8
One 2.66 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon Nehalem
3GB RAM (4GB installed)
640GB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s hard drive
GeForce GT 120 512MB GDDR3 SDRAM Video Card
Bluetooth
2 X 10/100/1000mbps Ethernet ports (wired)
One 18x SuperDrive
Apple Wired Mouse (Missing)
Apple Wired Keyboard with Numeric Keypad (Missing 'Z' key)

Note: Monitor not included!

darcilicious
Cyber Librarian
Premium Member
join:2001-01-02
Forest Grove, OR

darcilicious

Premium Member

Start here maybe? »support.apple.com/en-us/HT4718 though I think it means you can't run DBAN...

dolphins
Clean Up Our Oceans
Premium Member
Westville, NJ

dolphins

Premium Member

Thanks.

I found this »mashable.com/2013/10/23/ ··· vericks/ but it's not clear to me where or how I reinstall the drivers for this particular machine?

mbernste
MVM
join:2001-06-30
Piscataway, NJ

mbernste

MVM

If it has a recovery partition then it has all the necessary drivers for the machine. Likewise if it is old enough to have a DVD drive, then all the drivers it needs would be on that. If neither is an option, you might be able to download an ISO of Yosemite (which is free) and do a clean install.

Tinkster
Premium Member
join:2003-07-16
Rosedale, MD

Tinkster to dolphins

Premium Member

to dolphins
»support.apple.com/en-us/HT4718

mbernste
MVM
join:2001-06-30
Piscataway, NJ

1 recommendation

mbernste

MVM

That was already posted above.