Hi guys,

Noob question

The setup:
PC -> (LAN)Firewall(pppoe WAN) -> (LAN)Bridged Modem(WAN) -> ISP

PC -> 192.168.1.X
FW-Lan -> 192.168.1.1
FW-Wan -> Public IP from ISP (PPPOE)
Modem (Lan) -> 192.168.2.1

What rule(s) do I have to put in the firewall to get the PC to establish a connection to the web interface of the modem (»192.168.2.1)
The packets needs to find their way to the modem and return to the PC.

Thanks.
pb2k
join:2005-05-30
Calgary, AB

pb2k

Re: [Other] how to connect to a Non-Routable IP across a firewall?

This has bad idea written all over it, but without needing to fiddle around with static routes and firewalls you could try this:
If just one of the ports on the modem is bridged, see if you can change the modem IP to the same subnet as your internal lan, and just connect to one of the unbridged ports.
dsl4ever
join:2014-12-08

1 edit

dsl4ever

I was thinking about doing it... I'm not technical enough to picture how an attacker could bypass the bridge to the firewall and land in the internal network.

I'm just scared of the unknown

If someone spoofs a private IP and hit the BRIDGED public IP, will the modem forward it straight on its lan (now also connected to the private side of the firewall)?

uh...
(I think I'll go plan B - Since the Modem also got WiFi, I'll reach its management interface via a WiFi connection.)

eibgrad
join:2010-03-15
united state

eibgrad to dsl4ever

to dsl4ever
I’m confused. Why is 192.168.2.x unroutable in this configuration? The 192.168.2.x network resides on the other side of the FW’s WAN. Unless you’re claiming that because it’s PPPoE, this WAN to LAN connection is really LAN to LAN (layer 2). Is that how it should be interpreted? If so, and if you only need access from the one PC, why not just add a second IP address to the PC on the same network as the modem (i.e., multi-homed)?
dsl4ever

dsl4ever

said by eibgrad:

Why is 192.168.2.x unroutable in this configuration?