R2
R Not
MVM
join:2000-09-18
Long Beach, CA

R2

MVM

Optical digital audio cables

This Christmas I got a couple of those sound bars for our TVs. Both of them have optical cable connections, but of course they never give you those cables to use. You have to buy them separately. On one of the TVs, the coaxial stereo mini plug out does not seem to work. My options would be to use the RCA plug outputs, or try the optical digital connection. I have no experience using the optical connections. Does anybody have any recommendations or thoughts? Thank you.

plantronic
@206.47.249.x

1 recommendation

plantronic

Anon

yeah i recommend it, give it a try the quality is great

Tursiops_G
Technoid
MVM
join:2002-02-06
Brooksville, FL

Tursiops_G to R2

MVM

to R2
You should be able to pick up a couple of inexpensive TOSLINK cables at Fry's or Wally World (aka Wal-Mart).

Camelot One
MVM
join:2001-11-21
Bloomington, IN

Camelot One to R2

MVM

to R2
If you have Amazon Prime, their "basics" optical cables are pretty decent.
»www.amazon.com/AmazonBas ··· al+cable
I don't know how much the shipping adds for non-prime members though.
Monoprice is also a good source.

I strongly suggest avoiding Monster brand for optical. Aside from their usual insane pricing, the cables themselves are so thick (for no reason) that they tend to break the tiny tabs on the optical socket. And once they break, the cable just falls out.

mackey
Premium Member
join:2007-08-20

mackey to R2

Premium Member

to R2
Also avoid Radio Shack. No joke, they wanted $40 for a "gold plated" optical toslink cable that's $1.68 at monoprice...

/M

Tursiops_G
Technoid
MVM
join:2002-02-06
Brooksville, FL

Tursiops_G to R2

MVM

to R2
Agreed... You can get perfectly fine cables for under $5...
»www.walmart.com/search/s ··· rice_low

plantronic
@206.47.249.x

plantronic

Anon

note, walmart doesnt have the dash (-) in its name any more, its no longer wal-mart, its simply walmart with a star kinda thingy beside it.