uniqs

jduffy
Premium Member
join:2006-08-20
Cincinnati, OH

jduffy

Premium Member

Tivo Roamio with Fioptics

Folks, I have TWC now and I am thinking of getting a Tivo Roamio. I know it will work with using a Cablecard, but IF I ever decide to go to Fioptics, will the Roamio work with Fioptics and if so, how?

Also, while I am asking, I have cable running to each room in the house. I cannot go to CAT5 cable because what they put in is unshielded. Since I am a amateur radio operator, unshielded cable does not work well with RF from the transmitters. In the past when I had Zoomtown, transmitting would knock the Internet off-line. So I need to keep the shielded coax to keep the RF out. So can Fioptics use the existing coax and if so, how is it accomplished? Thanks for any info. Happy New Year.

dcurrey
Premium Member
join:2004-06-29
Mason, OH

dcurrey

Premium Member

Setup would depend on how CB sets you up.

In general the can use coax cable lines to feed your tvs. This is how it is done here. I have FTTH setup and its a cat5 line from ONT to the router that also MOCA connection to backfeed tv boxes

Everything is ip based so I don't think the tivo will work.

jduffy
Premium Member
Cincinnati, OH

jduffy

Premium Member

I believe the Verizon system is IP based and Tivo states it will work with Verizon. Since Cincinnati Bell is so small, they are not mentioned.
CVGNet
join:2012-04-10
Cincinnati, OH

CVGNet

I believe the unit uses a cablecard to support FiOS. FiOS is a split technology - not pure IP like Fioptics.

jduffy
Premium Member
Cincinnati, OH

jduffy

Premium Member