spc
Search similar:

uniqs
SigmaInigma
join:2014-07-11
Vinton, VA

SigmaInigma

Help configuring a router for use on a college campus

I have an Asus RT-N66U that I have put tomato firmware on. I am a student at George Mason University and I am trying to use my own router so that I can connect to a VPN. I have tried multiple setups but am having problems with them all.

Right now I have the WAN port of my router connected to the wall. I have my desktop computer and Xbox One connected to the router's LAN ports. I have no need for wireless functionality. It is working and I have an internet connection but occasionally (usually once or twice a day) the internet will stop working. Restarting the router immediately resolves the issue but I do not want to have to restart it every day.

I have also tried connecting the connection from the wall into the LAN port instead of the WAN port but had similar results. I have never setup a router on a network that already has a router so I think this may be where I am running into issues.

Right now my router is being assigned an IP of 10.186.127.233 on the WAN port. Subnet mask is 255.255.192.0
Gateway is 10.186.64.1
This was all assigned by DHCP from the schools router.

My router's LAN IP adress is the standard 192.168.1.1

Any ideas why I am getting connection drops?

bdnhsv
join:2012-01-20
Huntsville, AL

bdnhsv

Sounds like you are at times behind double NAT. That, and sometimes even single NAT will cause problems for certain types of VPN connections. What protocol are you using for your VPN? pptp, ipsec, openvpn, etc.?
LittleBill
join:2013-05-24

1 recommendation

LittleBill to SigmaInigma

to SigmaInigma
double nat is not your issue. i have done vpn behind 4 nat routers before for days. currently doing it now.

try another router and see if the connection drops, try plugging directly into the connection on the walls and see if it drops, if it does short of calling IT. there is nothing you can do
SigmaInigma
Vinton, VA