spc
Search similar:

uniqs

modfish
@verizon.net

modfish

Anon

Tolerance for IT issues

I am currently a network manager at my corp. job, we just got a new CEO at the helm. In his first few days in the office he reported some technical issues, 1 – was audio quality on both phones in his office. 2 – his laptop wouldn't have a network connection when docked and it only worked on wifi.

One of my engineers went to investigate these issues and said the following

We checked both phones in the office for audio quality, at this time both phone lines sound clear. I also checked the connection to your desk phone with a laptop and it is working, I docked the test laptop and the network connection was in a working state. Some docks have been known to be troublesome so the dock was replaced with a new dock, otherwise it could be an issue with the laptop

The next time you are in the office try and dock your laptop to test the network connectivity, make sure your Wi-Fi is disabled upon docking. If you still are experiencing network issues, let us know.

The next email we get from the CEO is this:

someone, et al.,

Here’s what my testing of the laptop/docking station and visual inspection of the cable plant yielded:

1.The laptop still does not connect via physical cable plant.  Fortunately the wireless access is working again.  If there’s not a known straightforward fix, I’ll live with it given this is an extremely important week for me and the company.  If you’re confident it’s not a docking station or cable plant issue, it appears to be a laptop HW or SW issue.

2. No CAT5 cables at my desk or conference table were swapped out.