Juniper SRX320

sk1939

Premium Member

[Electrical] Mini Panel Install

Click for full size
Click for full size
Click for full size
Click for full size
I know I'm asking for it, but I would like a critique. Yes I know there is a 20A outlet with a 15A breaker. However it is 12AWG wire and to my knowledge, it is permissible (it is the reverse that isn't). The unfinished box is where the Arc Fault outlet goes, but I need to buy the correct bracket for it. Will be fed by a monster 10AWG SOOW cable with a 5-15 cord cap. As to the "why", they don't make either an Arc-Fault power strip, nor a power strip with a 20A twist-lock plug for a reasonable price.

Raphion
join:2000-10-14
Samsara

Raphion

Why the mini-panel at all? Why not just install an AFCI in your main panel, and run a dedicated circuit from it to this outlet?

Tursiops_G
Technoid
MVM
join:2002-02-06
Brooksville, FL

2 recommendations

Tursiops_G to sk1939

MVM

to sk1939
I'm not an Electrician by any means (My expertise is in Electronics), but I'd increase the wire wrap under that Ground screw (in the 4th pic) to about 1/2 to 3/4 dia. (~180 to 270 degrees) of contact...

sk1939
Premium Member
join:2010-10-23
Frederick, MD

sk1939 to Raphion

Premium Member

to Raphion
It's portable rack on wheels, so it has to move and be able to be unplugged versus unwired.

Edit: Also because a QO AFCI is $50 while the outlet is $26.
sk1939

sk1939 to Tursiops_G

Premium Member

to Tursiops_G
Will fix that when I finish it, I wasn't sure if doing it that way was going to be enough or not.
brodgers
join:2006-03-20
Gillett, WI

1 recommendation

brodgers to sk1939

to sk1939
While the 12AWG is fine on the 15amp breaker, the 20amp receptacle on the 15amp breaker is a violation of the NEC. Check out table 210.21(B)(3).

Tex
Dave's not here
Premium Member
join:2012-10-20

Tex to sk1939

Premium Member

to sk1939
What, exactly, are you going to be powering with this setup?