dslreports logo

All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
Neville
join:2015-02-01

Neville

[Internet] The boss got three modems: is that stupid or am I?

Hello,

I’m looking for some advice on my Bell internet account and was hoping to ask the community here first before chasing this around the universe with tech support and billing… My background is in PR not in phone/internet service, so bear with me if this sounds silly:

The small business I work for recently asked me to take a look at their internet and phone bills. We’re a seasonal event business (open one day a week during the summer) that makes a lot of use of internet and phones during the summer, but basically not at all during the winter. This being the first time I’ve looked at the company bills and I’ve discovered that they’re running in the thousands of dollars - - (I wish someone had handed these to me earlier…)

Our internet bill looks like this:

8 Hour Support SLA $15.00
Business Internet 3 Years $55.00
Standard Modem $6.60
Static IP Address $27.50

They currently have it set up as three accounts with 3 modems - - that’s over $100 per modem, the monthly bill comes to $312.30 + tax.

My questions:
1. What is 8 Hour Support SLA?
2. We don’t have a web server on site or anything - - is it necessary for us to be on a static IP?
3. Does having 3 modems actually do anything at all? We’re in a rural setting and I think the previous owner did it because he thought it would give us a better internet connection during the summer when it’s put under heavy load. Is that even accurate?

Any tips? Thanks to all for your time.

JC_
Premium Member
join:2010-10-19
Nepean, ON

1 recommendation

JC_

Premium Member

1. The 8 hour SLA guarantees that if your internet goes down it will be back back up within 8 hours otherwise it's a 24 hour turnaround for a repair. An 8 hour SLA will usually get you a tech dispatched on the same day.