aquarium_h2o
join:2015-02-02
QC, Canada
Technicolor DCM475
Obihai OBi202
D-Link DIR-820L

aquarium_h2o

QoS Engine settings

I've been using TekTalk (Teksavvy's VoIP service) for a couple months without any problems (so I know that the ATA i'm using is good). To save some money, I switched to VoIP.ms three weeks ago. In the last week, I've got some problem with VoIP.ms : 2 calls were drop, 2 call one-way audio only (different people).

I remember, last week I've activated the QoS Engine on my D-Link DIR-820L router and put a DHCP Reservation for IP adress of my Grandstream ATA. Settings are attached.

My problems begun at the same time. Are my QoS Engine settings good ? (my upload speed is 10 Mbits/s) Can QoS Engine be the cause of my problems ? Please advice...
rudeboy24
join:2002-10-14
Welland, ON

1 edit

rudeboy24

i would suggest change the priority to "1" and protocol to "any" or "both".

also remove the check mark from '"SIP" under APPLICATION LEVEL GATEWAY in the FIREWALL SETTINGS

also did you check the granstream settings voip.ms recommends?
»wiki.voip.ms/article/Dev ··· _-_HT502
PX Eliezer1
Premium Member
join:2013-03-10
Zubrowka USA

PX Eliezer1

Premium Member

said by rudeboy24:

also remove the check mark from '"SIP" under APPLICATION LEVEL GATEWAY in the FIREWALL SETTINGS

Agree.

By the way, OP, don't confuse SIP with SPI which you'll also see on the Firewall settings page.
PX Eliezer1

PX Eliezer1 to rudeboy24

Premium Member

to rudeboy24
said by rudeboy24:

i would suggest change the priority to "1" and protocol to "any" or "both".

Disagree with that, because this router has built-in capability to determine/detect VoIP usage.

Thus, QoS needs to be enabled, but the specific RULE does NOT need to exist at all. It's automatic as long as QoS iteslf is enabled.

The manual for this router makes that (sort of) clear, and I have used a very similar router myself.

In other words, the rule can be deleted, just enable the QoS.
PX Eliezer1