dslreports logo

All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
Jito463
join:2008-05-09

Jito463

[Equipment] Recommended modem for Windstream 24Mb service?

I'm considering right now whether to get 12Mb (which means I can use my current Netgear modem) or 24Mb, which from the sounds of it would require a service call by a Windstream tech and the use of their modem (which also now entails the $6.99/mo leasing fee). What I'd prefer to do, is buy my own modem for the 24Mb service and hook it up myself. I've been a computer tech for well over 20 years, so installation won't be an issue for me, what I'm unsure of is what will be compatible. As I doubt Windstream will recommend one to me (since then they can't ding me for the monthly lease fee), I'm asking here.

Alternatively, I may go ahead and get the 12Mb now, and upgrade to 24Mb later. Decisions, decisions. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

mojorhino
join:2007-09-24
Bartlesville, OK

mojorhino

I bet the 24 meg servcie uses a bonded modem & the 12 meg uses a regular (non bonded) modem. So if you can figure how to configure one then just buy a bonded modem & use it.
Jito463

Jito463

Well, yes, it does use a bonded modem (hence why my modem won't work). I was simply asking for recommendations on which bonded modem would work best for Windstream's service.

mojorhino
Bartlesville, OK

mojorhino

I would say go with a Comtrend because the GUI on it is very similar to the ones Windstream uses.
Jito463

Jito463

Is there a specific model? I was hoping for a bit more detail. I appreciate the response, but I already saw the comment about the Comtrend in another post, I simply couldn't locate more info on what model they were referring to.

*EDIT*
Well, I was finally able to pull up their website (wasn't working for me before), and it looks like their only model may be the 5631/5631e, if I'm reading it correctly. I presume that's the one to which you refer?

mojorhino
Bartlesville, OK

mojorhino