spc
Search similar:

uniqs
tomupnorth
join:2005-01-14
UpperMidwest

tomupnorth

[Carpentry] Need to trim 1/4" off the bottom of a kitchen cabinet

The height of the "opening" for a refrigerator in our kitchen is only about 65 3/8", and the new fridge we want to put-in there needs 65 1/2". My idea is to trim about a quarter inch, maybe a half, off the front (and right side) of the cabinet that is above the fridge. My question is how to do this without making too much of a mess of it. I have a powered hand planer but of course it won't plane all-the-way to the back or the side. I also have a small circular saw and could probably figure-out how to clamp a metal guide fence to the cabinet so I wouldn't have to free-hand it. I have too a jig saw, and one of those new oscillating power tools, and a router though I've never used it before.

Wondering if anyone here has done this before and has tips for me.

Unfortunately the above-fridge cabinet is not a separate item from the cabinets to its left or I would take it down to work on it, but that's not an option. Here's a pic showing the existing (very old) refridge which just fits...

upload img

fluffybunny
@cipherkey.com

fluffybunny

Anon

knock out the bottom shelf completely with the jigsaw, fit the new fridge in and use the fridge top as the new shelf.

Frink
Professor
Premium Member
join:2000-07-13
Scotch Plains, NJ

1 edit

Frink

Premium Member