how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

quazg0d

join:2001-07-10
Pickering, ON

Questions about Rogers Hi-Speed Lite

I currently have the Hi-Speed internet at $44.94 a month, but I'm a student and I'd rather save $20 by getting the Roger's Hi-Speed Lite package. I have a few questions about it because I'm really thinking of switching over.

At the Rogers' website they already tell me that What will change:
- 1 e-mail address (Reg. 7 e-mails)
- no webspace (Reg. 10meg webspace)
- no VIP 10% discount (Reg. you get the discount)

So my questions are:
- Is the speed going to decrease if I get the Lite package? If so, by how much?
- Will I have to completely re-install and/or get a technician?

I'm mainly worried about my download speeds. I'm getting an average of 45 kps on large files, I hope that doesn't change that much.
[text was edited by author 2002-05-01 16:10:54]

elusion
Premium
join:2001-10-25
Scarborough, ON

First of all, not all customers get the discount, You have to have the VIP package. And the speed do decrease, the advertised speed for Rogers Hi-Speed Internet Service is 3000 kilobits download, 384 kilobits upload. In other words, 375 kilobytes down/48 kilobytes up. You are only getting 45 kilobytes down( which is bad). THat is not your question at this time so I will continue. Rogers' lite speed service is advertised at 128 download/64 k download. In other words, 16 kilobytes down/8 kilobytes up. It's up to you to decide which one you would rather, if you can afford the Rogers HI-speed service, take it, and tweak it. IF you are still not getting atleast 180 kilobytes, cancel it:). Save your money. 45 kilobytes is crap. even though 16 kilobytes is too, but atleast you will be saving your 20 dollars.