site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
1296
Share Topic
Posting?
AuthorAll Replies

Anon

flashcom to asap

I just had a call from ASAP networks, and was told they are working with covad to transition my accounts from flashcom. I have been checking this site, as well as covads and flashcoms each day, and had heard nothing about them or the switch. Also, they are not represented in any reviews or posts that I found on this site. I wanted to check them out and see what others thought, anyone out there have either ASAP or are being transitioned?
As a side note, they mentioned they are working with Flashcom customers in my area (NYC metro), so if you are not in this region you may not be transitioned to them.

Any one have any thoughts?


n2jtx

join:2001-01-13
Glen Head, NY
Reviews:
·Optimum Online

I am on Long Island and I have not heard from them (although I have not been home to see if I have any messages). I found their website at http://www.asapnet.net and it is useless. No pricing or any "real" information. According to WHOIS, they are based in Wisconsin of all places. You would think they could find someone in the NYC metro area to handle these accounts. I guess I will have to wait and see if they come to me and, if so, what their service terms are. It had better be the same service at the same price with a static IP or I am looking elsewhere. I do not really want to go with Cablevision's OptimumOnline but it may be the only alternative.


Anon

They charged $299 for a 1.1 connection. A bit pricy, but then again, I was used to flashcom never billing me. Hopefully the transition will be smooth, as I am aware of the problems Northpoint users had with Telocity. I will update my post over the next few days to let other Covad users know how it went.

Come to think of it, I'm going to miss Flashcom.... Its been a bumpy but eventful ride.


Waiola

join:2000-09-06
La Grange, IL

I also received a call from ASAPNetworks on 1/16/2001. The guy that cold called me told me that Flashcom was bankrupt and that if I don't change my DSL service to ASAPNetworks right away, our office DSL service is likely to be lost almost immediately. He implied that ASAPNetworks was the provider that Covad had designated to succeed Flashcom's Covad customers. When I pointed out that I could not find his company on DSLreports and also was having a hard time finding them on the web, he checked with someone in the back room and told me their web address is dslasap.com This was after he gave me a bad address (asap.com) which I pointed out was a software company, not an ISP. He told me he was not a salesman, he was just trying to do me a favor by letting me know my DSL service would be cut off if I don't sign up with ASAPNetworks immediately. He then proceeded to call me back several times in the next four hours, each time leaving increasingly ominous messages for me to immediately sign the migration request form he sent me TODAY. I decided to take a pass on ASAPNetworks.



jjwagner

join:2001-01-18
Troy, MI

reply to Anon
Covad told me today that nobody could touch the Flashcom lines, by order of the bankruptcy court. They were not able to transfer me to another ISP. I'm interested in finding out how your situation with ASAP works out.

I'm going to try to get a NEW DSL line installed, then cancel my Flashcom account.

good luck



DSLUSER

@techincorp.com

reply to Anon
Someone I think is scamming you. Just look at Covad.net and it will keep you informed until your contract is up. DO NOT renew your contract. Choose another ISP or Covad.net for transition after that. Then you will be free of Flashcomm. I do not know why they are not selling these customers to COVAD for the debt owed. They can never recover from the loss.


Anon

Flashcom seems to be in Chapter 11. Chapter 11 is the last step a company takes to pay off its debts. Therefore, they can't allow everyone to break their contracts because they are under the control of some bank or something. Call me at Globix, we provide sDSL but it is not our core business, which is good for you!

Niel S.
212.625.7812

And yes, we are in NY



kir

@flashcom.net

reply to Anon
asap is a bitch, look at their prices.. they chare like were on north poll..
»www.asapnetworks.com/citp.html


Anon

reply to Anon
Well, I should have updated this a while ago, but didn't have a chance.
ASAP has not contacted me since Flashcom took the name and number of the person who contacted me, and a copy of the fax they sent me. Flashcom had assured me that in no way was ASAP an arranged ISP to switch to, and to hang tight until they let me know the next step. Hopefuly they will in time, otherwise a lot of people are not going to be pleased with me (I'm an IT director)

But the question remains, who is ASAP, and what gives them the audacity to act in such an unethical way. I hope they're next to go under, we don't need anymore shady ISPs in the market.



n2jtx

join:2001-01-13
Glen Head, NY
Reviews:
·Optimum Online

said by dpkor:
But the question remains, who is ASAP, and what gives them the audacity to act in such an unethical way. I hope they're next to go under, we don't need anymore shady ISPs in the market.
Of course we all know the answer to that question; the quest for the almighty dollar! If they scare even a handful of people into switching to them at their prices, they have it made. This is EZ MONEY for them. They do not have to worry about line installation, equipment or on site calls since the customer already has everything. They authorize a switch, the DSLAM gets reprogrammed and they collect the prize. Ethical no, expected yes. The big question is how did they get Flashcom's customer list? I myself was never contacted by them.

BTW, I see you are in White Plains. I worked for Kraft in the old GF building, across from St. Agnes for 6 1/2 years. Kind of miss the old place...


commentator

@birmingham12.mi.pub-

reply to Anon
The URLs above are not accurate. They are for different companies and are unrelated to the ASAP Networks who called you. The only real URL for this ASAP Networks you mention is www.dslasap.com. I know because they are providing us with Internet access, though they have not been providing internet access for four days, and they are not responding to telephone calls. Also, as of right now, a great big advertisement on their website says "If you order before April 1st" and it's now April 19th. I suspect there's something seriously wrong.

There was one sales person there who was calling and lying to Flashcom customers. He no longer works there. It is unfortunate, but this sort of thing can happen in any business.



commentator

@birmingham12.mi.pub-

reply to Anon
The URLs above are not accurate. They are for different companies and are unrelated to the ASAP Networks who called you. The only real URL for this ASAP Networks you mention is www.dslasap.com. I know because they are providing us with Internet access, though they have not been providing internet access for four days, and they are not responding to telephone calls. Also, as of right now, a great big advertisement on their website says "If you order before April 1st" and it's now April 19th. I suspect there's something seriously wrong.

There was one sales person there who was calling and lying to Flashcom customers. He no longer works there. It is unfortunate, but this sort of thing can happen in any business.


Monday, 04-Jun 09:02:58 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics