uniqs

Hitman2
join:2002-11-13
Beaverton, OR

Hitman2 to NickG8

to NickG8

Re:FM114P R22 firmware

said by NickG8:
You can make one yourself using a Linux box in a few hours and it'll be rock stable and stay up for years, so why Netgear are finding it so difficult is really beyond me.

Nick...
I recently downloaded RH linux and they gave me a month long support account. I received more security patch notices from them in one month than I have from MS in three...

So maybe software is more complicated than you would like to admit, or maybe we should all have zero faith in using linux to set up a router with.
azlza_79
join:2003-02-20
Golden Age

azlza_79 to NickG8

to NickG8
said by NickG8:
I'm a software developer myself with a degree in Computer Engineering and I still don't understand how they can really be this bad at making a simple router! You can make one yourself using a Linux box in a few hours and it'll be rock stable and stay up for years, so why Netgear are finding it so difficult is really beyond me.

Nick...
BUT FR114P only have 1M flash, a full fucntional OS cant be installed into this too small flash.
ecorreia
join:2003-02-06
Portugal

ecorreia to NickG8

to NickG8

Re: FM114P R22 firmware

I just want to say that at last my issues with SSH are definitely gone with this firmware release. Good work netgear !!

DocCardan
Gomers Never Die
join:2003-01-28
Europe

DocCardan

In fact: the R22-release is a good work from netgear, except the performance loss.... I changed back to R21c ... I hope they´ll fix it soon, ´cause now my long-url-problem is back...

CU

meowBB
join:2002-01-21
Hayward, CA

meowBB

said by DocCardan:
In fact: the R22-release is a good work from netgear, except the performance loss.... I changed back to R21c ... I hope they´ll fix it soon, ´cause now my long-url-problem is back...

CU
Me too..I changed back to R21c..it is significantly faster.
NickG8
join:2003-01-16
UK

NickG8 to Hitman2

to Hitman2

Re:FM114P R22 firmware

quote: