 SYNACKJust Firewall ItPremium,Mod join:2001-03-05 Venice, CA Host: Networking Virtual Private Ne.. Netgear ZyXEL
| reply to Julio
Re: [scam] Go-l PCs Why??? |
I would be very cautious with this company. Many thing don't ring plausible.
Too many buzzwords, too much hype.
For example, look at their server picture.
Red: Why would there be an LCD for CPU load (3 CPUs) on the powersupply (!) inside the case of a dual CPU server??? Cyan: This really looks photoshopped. Why is there an IC on the fan housing (NO circuit board there!) that looks amazingly similar to an IC nearby??? That Fan is also completely obstructing the use of the AGP and PCI slots. [text was edited by author 2003-09-28 15:47:50] |
|
|
|
 e144539 join:2000-11-02 San Angelo, TX | said by SYNACK: I would be very cautious with this company... Why would there be an LCD for CPU load (3 CPUs) on the powersupply
I would be cautious too. I think that third one is supposed to be GPU, but the picture is obviously photoshoped. they got the some of the images from here ![]() cool site. They do have that little disclaimer at the bottom though. "Certain images are for illustration purposes only." and on the legal page "All product photos are for illustrative purposes only. Photos displayed on website may contain optional items that are not included in the default configuration for that system."
Here's a good link giving evidence its a hoax »plex.us/outbursts/liebermann.html
...But want to know if they've stolen anyone's money, or if it's just some kind of joke. -- Never attribute to malice that which can be adequately explained by stupidity. |
|
 neutralfaith in the futurePremium join:2001-08-04 Ringgold, GA kudos:7 | said by e144539:
Here's a good link giving evidence its a hoax »plex.us/outbursts/liebermann.html
...But want to know if they've stolen anyone's money, or if it's just some kind of joke.
Well, I went through the site and tried to actually go through some order screens, and it doesn't look like you could even order if you wanted to. All the order screens gave me an error saying that "Miva Merchant has not been initialized". I haven't tried to call the 877 number though. Not quite that bored....yet. -- I want to say I'm sorry for stuff I haven't done yet irc.fj33r.com - #dslr||Werewolves of Folding |
|
 spamdPremium join:2001-04-22 Cherry Valley, IL
| reply to e144539 said by e144539: They do have that little disclaimer at the bottom though. "Certain images are for illustration purposes only." and on the legal page "All product photos are for illustrative purposes only. Photos displayed on website may contain optional items that are not included in the default configuration for that system."
But isn't that called false advertising?? I have heard of companies telling you that the product may not look like the one pictured, because of product version changes. But these guys take it to the next level. It looks like they are actually admitting to false advertising, and then making is sound all legal.
This is just as stupid as,, lets say for example a car maker like Ford. Advertising a Ford Escort with a picture of a V8 engine installed or photoshopped and set of Mikey Thompson racing tires. Then having that posted on there website. Then saying "All product photos are for illustrative purposes only"...  Sorry but nice try.
Any one have any thoughts on this.. -- »They can't make em any better than this [text was edited by author 2003-10-06 01:05:10] |
|