dslreports logo
site
 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc

spacer




how-to block ads


Search Topic:
uniqs
22532
share rss forum feed


Sparrow
Crystal Sky
Premium
join:2002-12-03
Sachakhand

1 edit
reply to justin

Re: I quite like this one

Here's what mine looks like.
Maybe other posters can do the same to give as an idea!

EDIT: I also have "bold" on "%u" that is not showing in the screenshot.


Weirdal
Premium
join:2003-06-28
Grand Island, NE
kudos:21

1 edit

1 recommendation

reply to justin

Is there a character limit or something?
I am using image tags to get the animaated stars worked in there and the url of the image is very long, and it cuts it off :(
if there has to be a character limit, can it say how many characters you have left?
EDIT: this is what i'm talking about:
I put this-

<center>%u</center>
<center><small><b>%f</b></small></center>
<center>%a1</center>
<small><center>online: %o</center>
<center>Posts: %p</center>
<center><img src=http://www.broadbandreports.com/r0/download/497762~fb7b1fff13499eff80cc0e
*7ca2faef17/star_blue.gif>%L<img src=http://www.broadbandreports.com/r0/download/497762~fb7
*b1fff13499eff80cc0e7ca2faef17/star_blue.gif>

(*) WARNING 1 long line(s) split
this is what i get:
<center>%u</center>
<center><small><b>%f</b></small></center>
<center>%a1</center>
<small><center>online: %o</center>
<center>Posts: %p</center>
<center><img src=http://www.broadbandreports.com/r0/download/497762~fb7b1fff13499eff80cc0e
*7ca2faef17/star

(*) WARNING 1 long line(s) split

I guess i could just leave the images out but it looks s pretty with it in :D


GeekNJ
Premium
join:2000-09-23
Waldwick, NJ
Reviews:
·Optimum Online
·Verizon FiOS

Ugh! Trying to get a preview that has an avatar I end up with:

503 Request temporarily denied: too many requests arriving from your IP address. See this page for more information

Any way to show a couple samples with avatars and a couple samples without avatars in each Preview?
--
Have you tweaked your OOL connection?



justin
..needs sleep
Australian
join:1999-05-28
kudos:15
reply to Weirdal

don't even TRY that. You are trying to execute a CGI (/r0/download) for ever single persons info? no way.



justin
..needs sleep
Australian
join:1999-05-28
kudos:15
reply to GeekNJ

use the mod preview button.



lilhurricane
Crunchin' For Cures
Premium,Mod
join:2003-01-11
Purple Zone
kudos:57
reply to justin

This is fantastic...thank you



Weirdal
Premium
join:2003-06-28
Grand Island, NE
kudos:21
reply to justin

said by justin:
don't even TRY that. You are trying to execute a CGI (/r0/download) for ever single persons info? no way.

my bad
--
My blog


GeekNJ
Premium
join:2000-09-23
Waldwick, NJ
Reviews:
·Optimum Online
·Verizon FiOS
reply to justin

Click for full size
One downside I've seen is that for short posts, you still get a full "user" section which wastes a lot of space.
--
Have you tweaked your OOL connection?


Ol Drippy
RIP,,, FRIEND
Premium
join:2003-10-22
Grand Island, NE
kudos:7
reply to justin

Yes, that can be irritating. I am actually using the first code that Justin posted. I like getting all of the information on a user, without going the extra click to their User page. Yet an extra scroll or two is no big deal to me.
--
Each life makes its own immitation of immortality. - Stephen King



usa2k
Blessed
Premium,MVM
join:2003-01-26
Redford, MI
kudos:3
Reviews:
·WOW Internet and..
reply to GeekNJ

said by GeekNJ:
One downside I've seen is that for short posts, you still get a full "user" section which wastes a lot of space.

That is my preference to see it all!
--
Jim -- USA2K
Voip on FWD & Vonage
SEE: »www.usa2k.net
[I'm a Grampa twice now! Cameron, and now Caleb!]


GeekNJ
Premium
join:2000-09-23
Waldwick, NJ
Reviews:
·Optimum Online
·Verizon FiOS
reply to GeekNJ

said by GeekNJ:
One downside I've seen is that for short posts, you still get a full "user" section which wastes a lot of space.

As a followup, maybe a variable or tag that can be set to indicate the break point for short posts? Everything above the tag is displayed and what is below the tag is not displayed on the short posts?
--
Have you tweaked your OOL connection?


b0
Shot Drinker
Premium
join:2002-04-16
none
reply to justin

this is gunna be fun....



Weirdal
Premium
join:2003-06-28
Grand Island, NE
kudos:21

1 recommendation

reply to justin

if you put a line in it it looks so much nicer


Sparrow
Crystal Sky
Premium
join:2002-12-03
Sachakhand

1 edit

1 recommendation

said by Weirdal:
if you put a line in it it looks so much nicer

Very nice Weirdal27. EDIT

Did you use the code you posted above?


login name
Premium
join:2000-08-11

1 edit
reply to justin

I like this feature a lot! Thank you.



Weirdal
Premium
join:2003-06-28
Grand Island, NE
kudos:21

2 edits
reply to justin

no

<CENTER><B>%u</B>
<SMALL>%t</SMALL>
%a1
<HR>
<SMALL>Last online: <B>%o</B>
<SMALL><I>%l</I>
<B>%p</B> posts
Level <B>%L</B></CENTER>
(I'll fogive you for getting my name wrong, crystal sky ;))
I left the posting tag out, i see no need for them

--
My blog


state
stress magnet
Premium,Mod
join:2002-02-08
Purgatory
kudos:6
reply to justin

Very nice!

Does the (what appears to be an if statement) %h{foo} only work for the `Host of' variable? I tried using it with reviews and location with no luck...source shows (along with the value of the variable).



GeekNJ
Premium
join:2000-09-23
Waldwick, NJ
Reviews:
·Optimum Online
·Verizon FiOS

1 recommendation

reply to justin

Here's mine in case anyone wants something to start off with:
%a3<b>%u</b><br><small>%t<br>Posts: %p<BR>
Joined: %j<BR>Last: %o<BR>Loc: %l<br>
%h{<hr>Host of:}<hr>%r</small>

--
Have you tweaked your OOL connection?


usa2k
Blessed
Premium,MVM
join:2003-01-26
Redford, MI
kudos:3

1 recommendation

reply to justin

The "My Page" should show others how you format your view



GeekNJ
Premium
join:2000-09-23
Waldwick, NJ
reply to justin

Seems the Preview size table needs to be adjusted. I show more wrapping in the Preview then in actual posts.
--
Have you tweaked your OOL connection?



slash
Premium,MVM
join:2001-03-01
Boston

4 edits
reply to justin

Here's mine:
<SMALL><B>%a3%f<BR>
%u</B><BR><HR><BR>
Join: %j<BR>
Loc: %l<BR>
Lvl: %L<BR>
Posts: %p<BR>
%t<BR>%c
<BR></CENTER>%r
%h{<B>Host of</B>:<BR>}<BR><CENTER>%o

--
Why not?


Weirdal
Premium
join:2003-06-28
Grand Island, NE
kudos:21
reply to justin

What would be really cool is if we could have font colors
*hint hint*
--
My blog



removed
Premium,VIP
join:2002-02-08
Houston, TX
kudos:40
reply to GeekNJ

Classic look. I like!



GeekNJ
Premium
join:2000-09-23
Waldwick, NJ
reply to justin

Do the { } tags work for all variables? If not, I think it would be great if they did.



Cousin Dave
Trendsetter
Premium
join:2002-10-29

1 recommendation

reply to justin

Now everyone has just a username and an avatar.
By my view,we're all equal.:)

--
When angry Democrats attack!!



Sniper308
Premium
join:2003-01-11
Columbia, SC
reply to justin

said by justin:
for you, I guess it has gone backward. Sorry.
but there are plans to redo membership trinkets. maybe you will prefer whatever the new ones end up being.

Are there any plans of adding trinkets/spinners for the gaming clans here at BBr like the ones for Seti or Discovery?

/Sniper crosses his fingers and hopes yes, yes, yes!
--
A proud member of the BBr UT Clan


b0
Shot Drinker
Premium
join:2002-04-16
none

1 recommendation

reply to justin

here's my setup. this is really a great addition to the site.

<SMALL><B>%a3%f
<BR>%u</B>
<BR><HR><BR>Join: %j
<BR>Loc: %l
<BR>Lvl: %L
<BR>Posts: %p
<BR>%t
<BR>%o

--
if anger's a gift, i guess i've been blessed- Chester

ftzsee
Premium
join:2001-11-22
reply to justin

This is one of the better site changes in the past few months.



Weirdal
Premium
join:2003-06-28
Grand Island, NE
kudos:21

1 edit
reply to justin

now i am confused
»/r0/down···user.jpg
that is what i want it to be.
for some reason though, when i press enter to start a new line, it does not start a new line it does not start a new line on the posts, if there is room, it just fits it all on 1 line.
I had it earlier and now i dont, can someone please tell me what i am doing wrong?
--
My blog



state
stress magnet
Premium,Mod
join:2002-02-08
Purgatory
kudos:6

1 recommendation

said by Weirdal:
now i am confused :(
»/r0/down···user.jpg
that is what i want it to be.
for some reason though, when i press enter to start a new line, it does not start a new line it does not start a new line on the posts, if there is room, it just fits it all on 1 line.
I had it earlier and now i dont, can someone please tell me what i am doing wrong?

It uses html code...use a br for newline.

<br>