spc
Search similar:

uniqs

OSIAS
@comcast.net

OSIAS

Anon

831 Bootstrap help

okay im not going to lie here. i am new to cisco routers. i am a tech and understand networking quite well just never got my hands on a cisco router before..

heres my problem.. my bootstrap isnt loading up..
the lights all come on and it posts.. but nothing loads at all.

before i could telnet in through the console cable and if you turned it off off and on the router bootstrap loads and you see it load configuration etc.. and then have the ability to log in....now it doesnt ... and nothing loads.. IE its not working at all and the cisco fast step software cant detect the router. through ethernet or serial.

i have
cisco 831
cisco fast step software
12.3 image
tftp server running

but i cant log into the router to do the reimage diasaster recovery..

does this make sense sorry if it doesnt i could be off my wanker.. so if i cant log in to reimage the bad boy how do i get the bootsrap back?

newbie in dire need of a good instruction manual .. please put out of his misery. lol

and i have been searching on this for a while now.. cisco etc and been asking other buddies i have that dealt with cisco before.. and thats kinda how it got like this..

when he was logged in the last time he like got back to begining log in area and type "confreg ox8072"
the end letters and #'s bit is off but it was somethign like that.. since then its been toast..

thanks in advance for maybe a direction to a good tutorial or page on this.
OSIAS

OSIAS

Anon

Does no one have any advice here?

am i just totally screwed?
caktusrn
join:2004-01-10
Palmyra, PA

caktusrn

config register should be 0x2102
bit # hexadecimal value meaning
00to03 0x0000to0x000f boot field
04 0x0010 undefined
05 0x0020 undefined
06 0x0040 system to ingore NVRAM
07 0x0080 OEM bit enabled
08 0x0100 break disabled
09 0x0200 undefined
10 0x0400 ip broadcast
11to12 0x0800to0x1800 console line speed
13 0x2000 boot default ROM