site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
174
Share Topic
Post a:
Post a:
AuthorAll Replies


Jason Levine
Premium
join:2001-07-13
USA

Vonage Registered their domain after AT&T?

I can't see CallVantage being confusingly similar to Vonage. The only claim of theirs that I think might have merit would be the domain name claim. (And that's ignoring that Vonage's main domain name seems to be Vonage.com.) However checking WHOIS I get the following:

Domain Name: CALLVONAGE.COM
Record created on 26-Feb-2004.

Domain Name: CALLVONTAGE.COM
Created on..............: Tue, Feb 24, 2004

So, unless I'm reading this wrong, Vonage registered their domain name two days after AT&T registered theirs. Almost sounds like Vonage was trying to set up a lawsuit against AT&T there.
--
-Jason Levine
http://www.jasons-toolbox.com/
http://www.PCQandA.com/
http://www.urateit.com/


tomkb
Premium
join:2000-11-15
Tampa, FL
kudos:5

The first to use it IN COMMERCE usually has the trademark rights to it (including common law).



X71

join:2003-05-27
Sacramento, CA

reply to Jason Levine
mdaaa... i think youre right jason. but there is another possibility that Vonage gonna redirect visitors from callvonage.com to their own website... so some unsuspecting customers can very well find themselves on vonage.com signing up with another company... so therefore vonage can successfully steal some customers.


Monday, 04-Jun 04:29:24 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics