site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
1210
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·Phish Tracker ·Anti-Phishing Work Group ·Avoid Phishing
AuthorAll Replies


Telly Boot
Premium
join:2002-05-15
Vancouver, BC

Is unsubscribenow bogus ? (I'm assuming it is).

Did a search but didn't see a reference to this one:
Just got a fancy 'unsubscribenow' e-mail that I expect is a sneaky address-harvesting campaign.
Here is the (bs-modified) address: email.direct@bsUnsubscribeNow.org
it appears to originate in Hubei (China ?)
Not sure how to safely post the headers, as I have the preview pane closed, but I can fish it out of my Deleted folder...
--
Dawn,n,The time when men of reason go to bed. (Ambrose Bierce.)


madylarian
The curmudgeonly
Premium
join:2002-01-03
Parkville, MD

The site seems to be dead now, but a search in the newsgroups (»groups.google.com/groups?sourcei···ow%2Eorg) showed lots of listings in NANAE and NANAS. The conclusion seems to be that this is an email harvesting scam very much like the Do-Not-Email list one recently mentioned.

Domain ID:D94973836-LROR
Domain Name:UNSUBSCRIBENOW.ORG
Created On:15-Mar-2003 09:31:30 UTC
Last Updated On:19-Feb-2004 01:06:02 UTC
Expiration Date:15-Mar-2004 09:31:30 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:R48-LROR
Status:OK
Registrant ID:ODN-439753
Registrant Name:steve km.
Registrant Street1:244 Madison Ave.
Registrant Street2:#456
Registrant City:New York
Registrant State/Province:NY
Registrant Postal Code:10016
Registrant Country:US
Registrant Phone:+1.6462497249
Registrant Email:webmaster@unsubscribenow.org
Admin ID:ODN-439753
Admin Name:steve km.
Admin Street1:244 Madison Ave.
Admin Street2:#456
Admin City:New York
Admin State/Province:NY
Admin Postal Code:10016
Admin Country:US
Admin Phone:+1.6462497249
Admin Email:webmaster@unsubscribenow.org
Tech ID:ODN-439753
Tech Name:steve km.
Tech Street1:244 Madison Ave.
Tech Street2:#456
Tech City:New York
Tech State/Province:NY
Tech Postal Code:10016
Tech Country:US
Tech Phone:+1.6462497249
Tech Email:webmaster@unsubscribenow.org
Name Server:XNS1.ELOGIC.CC
Name Server:C1.ELOGIC.CC

Is it me or does that name and address look familiar?

mady
--
Honi soit qui mal y pense


Mark Walton

join:2002-08-04
Ottawa, ON

reply to Telly Boot
Anything containing the word "unsubscribe" is probably bogus.
--
Mark Walton


gergesoilis

join:2004-03-22
UK

reply to Telly Boot
UnsubscribeNow.org. A spammer who warns you that your email address is circulating among spammers. Sure it is, that is what he is and he is sending you spam, so no lie there.

For only $21.95, he will remove your name from his own list I guess? Or do you think this one man really has control over every spammer worldwide and will be able to stop spam from you?

Who knows. But that is what his service offers.

What I do know, I would be hesitant to send my money to Alexey, a Russian based spammer who on his order form says he uses geotrust SSL, but in fact offers no encryption to any credit information you send his way. Go ahead and fill out his order form, never once does a lock appear in your browser. You can stick in any information you want, I would just suggest not submitting your real info, but you can smash away at the keyboard, no data validation is happening - wonder why???

So I told Yahoo, they have a spammer, someone saying the pages are encrypted when they are not, and offering a shady at best service. Yahoo's response? You guessed it. The site is in no way affiliated with Yahoo!.

So just so you don't think I am a crazy.

Here are these two whois info:
UnsubscribeNow.org
just-bargains.com
Here is the ip for just-bargains.com - 66.218.79.169
And for unsubscribenow.org - 66.218.79.173

And just so you can tell your mom you are smarter than any Yahoo employee, run a tracert for unsubscribenow.org or just-bargains.com and make your decision if these spammers are connected with yahoo. Yahoo seems to think they aren't.

So come on yahoo, if you hate spam so much, clean up your own house before you bother inventing some technology to stop spammers.

Next up - the amazingly tangled web of AOL-Timewarner.

Posted by Chet at December 29, 2003 02:23 AM | TrackBack



sivran
Back to Opera again
Premium
join:2003-09-15
Arlington, TX
kudos:1

reply to Mark Walton

Re: Is unsubscribenow bogus ? (I'm assuming it is)

said by Mark Walton:
Anything containing the word "unsubscribe" is probably bogus.

idd.

jerome_istin

join:2004-05-27
Fort Myers, FL

reply to Telly Boot

Re: Is unsubscribenow bogus ? (I'm assuming it is).

Hi Folks!

After 5 years on the web, I can still be abused like a baby and this guy do it !
I pay him $21.95 (if don't even remember if his website was secure or not ((( and I give him all my email addresses...
I will beat me, I'm so stupid!
Now, any advice you can give me to try to fix the problem?
It's most regarding my VISA card I'm afraid more than about spam...

Thanks in advance !


Mordy
Comfortably Numb
Premium,MVM,ExMod 2004-07
join:2001-12-02
Denver, CO
Reviews:
·Comcast Formerl..

1 edit

The first thing you need to do is call your credit card company and tell them you think your card has been compromised. You can also check into whether they can reverse the charge. At a minimum they will cancel that card and give you a new one. You don't need to have it stolen; you can tell them that you bought something on the internet and you aren't certain that it is secure.

Sorry that you got duped, but since you did register with this site, it would be interesting to actually see what happens with your spam traffic. My guess, like everyone else, is that your spam will go through the roof, but it would be good to get confirmation. Let us know what happens.
--
Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored - Aldous Huxley


Tuesday, 07-Feb 23:31:53 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online! © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics