site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
747
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·Phish Tracker ·Anti-Phishing Work Group ·Avoid Phishing
AuthorAll Replies


technick
Premium
join:2000-12-16
Wheat Ridge, CO
kudos:1

1 edit

OEM Software scam???

The company I work for is a very large distributor, and we are also a Microsoft Gold Parter and OEM Integrator for Microsoft. I got this weird email today about OEM Software site, and I was checking it out. They offer MS Windows XP Pro for 80 dollars, our cost is $130.00 from microsoft, and we buy packs of 30 from M$.

The website is »www.industrycds.com

What do you guys think?

One thing is they haven't been around for long.

06/09/04 09:50:30 whois industrycds.com
.com is a domain of USA & International Commercial
Searches for .com can be run at »www.crsnic.net/

whois -h whois.crsnic.net industrycds.com ...
Redirecting to DIRECT INFORMATION PVT. LTD., DBA DIRECTI.COM

whois -h whois.directi.com industrycds.com ...
Registration Service Provided By: NAME15.COM
Contact: support@ssl4all.com
Website: »name15.com

Domain Name: INDUSTRYCDS.COM

Registrant:
MTH-C LTD
Mary Thomper (ankamkam@yahoo.com)
238 North Ave. apt. 24
NY
NY,12753
US
Tel. +1.4593456235

Creation Date: 04-Jun-2004
Expiration Date: 04-Jun-2005

Domain servers in listed order:
ns1.3070.biz
ns2.3070.biz
ns3.3070.biz

Administrative Contact:
MTH-C LTD
Mary Thomper (ankamkam@yahoo.com)
238 North Ave. apt. 24
NY
NY,12753
US
Tel. +1.4593456235

Technical Contact:
MTH-C LTD
Mary Thomper (ankamkam@yahoo.com)
238 North Ave. apt. 24
NY
NY,12753
US
Tel. +1.4593456235

Billing Contact:
MTH-C LTD
Mary Thomper (ankamkam@yahoo.com)
238 North Ave. apt. 24
NY
NY,12753
US
Tel. +1.4593456235

Status:ACTIVE


ChrisJT
Premium
join:2001-12-20
Torrance, CA

Sounds like a scam to me.

from their FAQ page »www.industrycds.com/?page=faq&pid=&cart=

e) What do I get when I order something from you?
You get the CD(s) with the software in jewel case and labels. You also get the activation key, serial number or cd key necessary to activate the software. Note, that you will not be able to register the software with the manufacturer and get their support, but we will do our best to support you any way possible. This includes providing different updates and service packs. However some updates will still be available from manufacturers, in fact most of them.
--
You get what you pay for.


Jason Levine
Premium
join:2001-07-13
USA

reply to technick

said by technick:
I got this weird email
If the OEM Software is advertised via spam, then I'd be willing to bet money that it's a scam. If you even get anything for your money, chances are that the software is pirated.
--
-Jason Levine
http://www.jasons-toolbox.com/
http://www.PCQandA.com/
http://www.urateit.com/


howie1
Premium
join:2003-04-08
Antarctica
kudos:4

reply to technick
This is not "OEM" (pirates love to use the term) but pirated software, plain and simple... Most likely an Eastern European "supplier" where prosecution is difficult, if not impossible. Steer clear of this junk. If you want to make sure, send a link to Microsoft or Adobe and ask them how legitimate this stuff is.



Kalford
Seems To Be An Rtfm Problem.
Premium,MVM
join:2001-03-20
Ontario
kudos:1

reply to technick
Looks like a scam to me and it will most likely be stopped quite soon. I have forwarded the site link to the abuse@bsa.org to investigate.
--
"I reverse my right to type siht the wrong way."



Rhobite
Premium
join:2002-02-24
Cambridge, MA

reply to technick
YES. These are all scams. Typically based in Eastern Europe or Russia, always advertised by spam. They send you a CD-R with a cheap printed label. You're better off downloading your software from a newsgroup, at least then you're not paying the Russian mob. NEVER buy anything from a spammer.
--
Jimmysquid.com - I take pictures.



yeti34
RC Onroad racin

join:2001-04-12
Salt Lake City, UT

reply to technick
"f) Where does this software come from?
The software is shipped from Europe."

That should pretty much clear up where it comes from!! So you could deffinitely say it is not legal in the sense that they are not even based in the US.


cevans59
Premium
join:2003-08-14
Smithton, IL

This should be the nail in the coffin. From their testimonial page.

"OEM software is a great site with incredible prices for the exact software compared anywhere. My Adobe software was half the price advertised elsewhere. I got a response right away and package was delivered after 3 weeks. According to the Whois they haven't been around that long



Raabby

@oneteldsl.net

reply to technick
Check out their Secure ordering server - not an https in 'site'


arkansas_reb

join:2004-06-21
Gentry, AR

1 edit

Here are two more, same situation.

»smilesoftprod.net/
»softmadness.com/

Got both on the same spam, and neither have SSL. Both have been reported for investigation.



mihai

@cluj.astral.ro

reply to technick
check this out: »www.theregister.co.uk/2004/06/03···e_scams/



pcdebb
RIP dadkins
Premium
join:2000-12-03
Brandon, FL
kudos:4

reply to ChrisJT

said by ChrisJT:
Sounds like a scam to me.

from their FAQ page »www.industrycds.com/?page=faq&pid=&cart=
e) What do I get when I order something from you?
You get the CD(s) with the software in jewel case and labels. You also get the activation key, serial number or cd key necessary to activate the software. Note, that you will not be able to register the software with the manufacturer and get their support, but we will do our best to support you any way possible. This includes providing different updates and service packs. However some updates will still be available from manufacturers, in fact most of them.

that is the part that gets me. sounds like downloaded copies with pirated keys or something


Mordy
Comfortably Numb
Premium,MVM,ExMod 2004-07
join:2001-12-02
Denver, CO

1 edit

said by pcdebb:
said by ChrisJT:
Sounds like a scam to me.

from their FAQ page »www.industrycds.com/?page=faq&pid=&cart=
e) What do I get when I order something from you?
You get the CD(s) with the software in jewel case and labels. You also get the activation key, serial number or cd key necessary to activate the software. Note, that you will not be able to register the software with the manufacturer and get their support, but we will do our best to support you any way possible. This includes providing different updates and service packs. However some updates will still be available from manufacturers, in fact most of them.

that is the part that gets me. sounds like downloaded copies with pirated keys or something

That's actually how OEM software is supposed to work. The idea is that you bought a PC with the software already provided, and the maker of the PC provides the support.

But that leads to another lie in this scheme - OEM software can only be sold in conjunction with hardware (ala Windows on a new PC). The license for OEM software prohibits use on a machine that wasn't part of the purchase of the software. OEM software may be legal to buy without a PC, but not legal to use.
--
Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored - Aldous Huxley

Monday, 04-Jun 09:56:10 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics