  thongsai
join:2002-07-04 Santa Rosa, CA
| $9.95 scam.. check your bank statements.
well i was checking my bank account statements because i bought some stuff online and i saw a weird 9.95 charge from »www.pansalcorp.com/ I dont remember buying anything for 9.95 on the net so i check out that site. Its a site that you pay money to download some crappy templates. so i searched for "panalcorp scam" and i found this site »www.computercops.biz/article4824.html there are other sites like this that sells crap for 9.95. I have always been a safe internet buyer and bought from trusted sites. i always made sure there is that lock ssl icon on when buyin something. well think about it.. did someone steal my credit card account to just buy a stupid template? its obvious that these guys found a way to legal steal money from credit cards.. if u dont notice the small charge they get ur money. if u report it then they just return ur money and say some1 must have stolen the cc number to use their service. i already canceled my card and got my refund.. IF YOU ARE A VICTIM DO NOT TYPE PERSONAL INFO AT THEIR SITE!! well just a heads up to check ur bank statements for charges unknown to you. -- »thongsai-roms.shorturl.com/ |
|
  ctrip Islam is a Religion of Peace Premium join:2002-07-16 New Cumberland, PA
·EarthLink
| I looked at www.pansalcorp.com/ and noticed this testimonial:
PANSALCORP.com is the perfect resource for companies that are looking at having a professional quality website layout at an affordable price. One look at the quality and detail that is put into each and every design and you'll understand why PANSALCORP.com is number 1 in the template industry. -- John Tamush So i googled
"is the perfect resource for companies that are looking at having a professional quality website layout at an affordable price. One look at the quality and detail that is put into each and every design and you'll understand why"(with the quotes).
Google comes up with 109 web sites with this exact wording in their testimonials. |
|
 xirian Premium join:2003-01-26 Beacon, NY | reply to thongsai they look like a template monster reseller -- chrisw.us |
|
  NetFixer Freedom is NOT Free Premium join:2004-06-24 Murfreesboro, TN | reply to thongsai I noticed that you use PayPal to receive payment for a product you sell. That may be the source of your security leak, their reputation for keeping customer information secure is at best questionable. |
|
  Marilla I Am My Own Arbiter Premium join:2002-12-06 Belpre, OH
| said by NetFixer : I noticed that you use PayPal to receive payment for a product you sell. That may be the source of your security leak, their reputation for keeping customer information secure is at best questionable.
I've heard people say that, but I've yet to see real evidence of it.
We've been using Paypal as a payment method for years now, and never once had anything untoward happen. -- Windows, Mac, Linux, BSD - just use the right tool for the right job... end the OS Politics!
Real politics is much more interesting! www.georgewbush.com |
|
  thongsai
join:2002-07-04 Santa Rosa, CA
| yea i highly doubt paypal could be it but its possible for leaks to happen. and no i never fell for those fake email sayin they lost my account info and i need to sign in.. this just happened out of the blue. there will always be ways to get peoples credit card numbers but do u really think you can sell templates to people.. that site itself is questionable. they r just hoping people dont see the small charge. -- »thongsai-roms.shorturl.com/ |
|
 dkmj17
join:2004-07-12 Troy, MI
| reply to thongsai Hey everybody- quick update- I just got billed from Elitewebsoft.com
Same deal- I found your discussion by googling "John Tamush"- they have the exact same quote about being the best...
I reported them to the FTC- but yeah- it's definately a scam...
Mike |
|
 LittleSaint
join:2001-11-23 Brunswick, OH | I also received my CC bill yesterday with a charge of $9.95 from elitewebsoft.com. |
|
  ozley Premium join:2002-03-28 TN000 | reply to thongsai I always use a credit card that lets me use a virtual account number and set the amount to what I am buying. |
|
  consumer worry
@cableone.net
| reply to thongsai thongsai:
What was the basis of the 9.95 chagre on your bank statement? Was is an "unsigned check"? or a PayPal withdrawal? or a debit card charge?
Here's a link from today's news, a Washington Post article, that mentions a wide spread and growing fraud that seems very similar to what you describe.
»story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=s···004jul18
"Checking Account Fraud Is Increasing" WP 17-18-2004 |
|
 psycaz
join:2000-11-06 Ferndale, MI 1 edit | reply to thongsai I just found one from absolute-soft.com on cc statement from 6-21. Too bad they won't get to keep the money, my cc has already been informed and reversed the charge.
Thanks to the o.p. I found it sooner than later. |
|
 jmargel
join:2001-03-07 Northumberland, PA
| reply to thongsai I had something similiar. I was charged $29.99 for this crappy software I never purchased. Then on a Saturday I received something from FexEx, ended up being this expensive prescription overwieght medicene. They charged me over $300 for 20 pills. I guess this person thought I was fat. He even next day aired it on a Saturday.
I contacted both companies and traced the IP. Found it being a guy in Belgium, who was testing my card. I got my account changed. Contacted the FBI but they aren't even going to bother with it. Guess they have more important things to do. My bank was nice enough to reverse the charges. Not sure how they got my account either. I use M&T Bank. Like you I also check for the SSL lock, and always type my address into the bar. I run spybot & have anti-virus software up to date as well. |
|
  aurigus
| reply to psycaz I got hit with the pansalcorp.com scam as well. I always try to protect my debit card transactions (use one time use credit card for all untrusted sources).
Tried calling the number on the statement, was disconnected.
Website looked scam-ish so I contacted bank to get rid of the old cards. Whois shows it is protected and only registered beginning Feb 2004.
Registrant Contact: RegisterFly.com - Ref# 10074840 Whois Protection Service - ProtectFly.com (10074840.fly@spamfly.com) +1.2122952121 Fax: +1.2122952153 230 Park Avenue Suite 864 New York, NY 10169 US
This page is one of the top links I hit when putting pansalcorp.com into google. |
|
  M2S
@attbi.com
| quote: Website looked scam-ish so I contacted bank to get rid of the old cards. Whois shows it is protected and only registered beginning Feb 2004.
Registrant Contact: RegisterFly.com - Ref# 10074840 Whois Protection Service - ProtectFly.com (10074840.fly@spamfly.com) +1.2122952121 Fax: +1.2122952153 230 Park Avenue
Good one. That phone number belong to Verizon per google Verizon Communications, (212) 295-2121, 1095 Avenue Of The Americ, New York, NY 10036
Anyone, anywhere, can get a domain and use phoney information. No one validates the accuracy? Amazing...
M2S |
|
  Toppil Premium join:2000-12-30 clubs:
·Verizon FIOS
·Comcast
| reply to ozley said by ozley : I always use a credit card that lets me use a virtual account number and set the amount to what I am buying.
Virtual account number? What's that and is it like the one use card mentioned above? |
|
 suzi Premium join:2004-05-01
| reply to M2S quote: Anyone, anywhere, can get a domain and use phoney information. No one validates the accuracy? Amazing...
Yes, I believe that's correct - no one validates the info. If you find a domain whois listing with false or incorrect info, you can report it here:
»wdprs.internic.net/
The reports are followed up. I've made a number of reports there and within a few weeks, the domain registration info was changed. I've seen some ridiculous false info with phone numbers of 111-111-1111 and the like. 
Now the scammers are using proxy registrars more and more to hide behind. -- aka Suzi, Spyware Warrior |
|
  ozley Premium join:2002-03-28 TN000
·Millenicom
| reply to Toppil Virtual account number? What's that and is it like the one use card mentioned above?
Citi Cards have a program you can run on your pc or their web site and MBNA has it on there web site too. »www.citibank.com/us/cards/tour/c···48619C57 |
|
 dizzyfaust9
join:2002-12-28 Glendale, CA | reply to thongsai knew i read something here, just got a $9.95 charge from USOFTWEBSYS boo.
whats a good site to do a trace route, ip block lookup ? thanks. |
|
  dp Go Steelers Premium,MVM join:2000-12-08 Greensburg, PA | reply to thongsai Thanks for the heads-up. As a matter of rule, I always keep a close watch on accounts for this type of activity. -- Write your questions down on the back of a $20 dollar bill and send them to me |
|
 x539
join:2003-08-23 Oklahoma City, OK
| reply to dizzyfaust9 quote: whats a good site to do a trace route, ip block lookup?
http://www.dnsstuff.com is a good site for that, but don't expect it to do a whole lot of good. Your time will be better spent disputing the charge with your credit card company and reporting the incident to the FTC and FBI credit card fraud division. |
|