Martinus
Premium Member
join:2001-08-06
EU

Martinus

Premium Member

Hmmm. There are some things in the posts that don't add up:
quote:
...hidden modules that are embedded into your systems ramdisk (BIOS)...
BIOS is one thing and a Ramdisk is another thing. Don't know if the guy is talking about CMOS though.
quote:
Since i used a new board + memory + hard drive and it lived...

mboy
Premium Member
join:2001-04-13
Little Falls, NJ

mboy to zmaugy

Premium Member

to zmaugy
Sounds like nonsense to me. Now the guy says it infected his CPU? Rediculous.
Even infecting the CMOS sounds pretty outta whack these days. Most use some type of checksum to validate the file.
Besides, how much code can be written to 256KB that is almost ALL used up for hardware instructions.

zmaugy
join:2003-05-24
Slovenia

zmaugy to Martinus

to Martinus
I'm no computer expert, but the thing is that also my computer is calling that IP 239.255.255.250:1900.
I've formatted the HD, checked the system with NAV2004, KAV4.5, TDS3, Spybot, Adavare... and there is nothing suspicious. At that time I thought I'm perhaps paranoid, after this "news" I'm not so sure anymore...
One thing I have noticed just today: on ZAPro Alerts and logs Winword.exe tried to connect, and there is nothing written as Action taken. Weird!
zmaugy

zmaugy to mboy

to mboy
I hope you're right.
kpatz
MY HEAD A SPLODE
Premium Member
join:2003-06-13
Manchester, NH

kpatz to Martinus

Premium Member

to Martinus
quote:
It has the full package, a real trojan's trojan including: a Keylogger, a virus that attacks .exe, .com, and .vbs files, the hidden server, the ability to create ISO files (using exe2bin.exe), and the topper is a hidden "read only" file system containing a boot image and hidden modules that are embedded into your systems ramdisk (BIOS), and infects Windows on every re-install also any hard drive that is connected to the mainboard (before or after infection).