Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Security » Spyware Stormer
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
1174
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
Older versions of TrojanHunter available??? »
« Has anyone seen UDPfloder or  
AuthorAll Replies


Ctrl Alt Del
Premium
join:2002-02-18


1 edit
Spyware Stormer

Click for full size
More ads that want you to install their software and remove "spyware". This one doesn't even look obvious to first timers. No obnoxious bouncing or flashing lights. A good look alike picture of a dialog box.

Clicking on the image (not this one, the one as seen as an ad in a web page) takes you to spywarestormer.com
--
less talk, more music


SnowyOne
Premium
join:2003-04-05
Kailua, HI
·Clearwire Wireless
·RoadRunner Cable

It's listed in The Hall of Shame here
»www.spywarewarrior.com/rogue_ant···ware.htm
--
Dave said "By the way, 4294967295 is just another way to write -1".

eburger68
Premium,MVM
join:2001-04-28
reply to Ctrl Alt Del
Ctrl Alt Del:

Thanks for posting that. Do you recall where you encountered that advertisement? Got a URL you could point us to? I ask because the information could be very useful.

Thanks,

Eric L. Howes


Ctrl Alt Del
Premium
join:2002-02-18


1 edit
reply to Ctrl Alt Del
It was the ad at the top of this webpage: »mindbluff.com/askchess.htm I found this page in the Cool Broadband Links.

It is the advertiser that is showing the ad.

Location of image: »isg03.casalemedia.com/V2/39112/3···rmer.gif

When you click on the image, it takes you to »c.casalemedia.com/c?f=2&id=1&url···&c=39112 which redirects to spywarestormer.com
--
less talk, more music


Allyn_P
Premium
join:2002-10-29
Cashiers, NC

reply to Ctrl Alt Del
I alerted my computer club to this one two weeks ago. Another of the dozens of bogus apps that is not to be trusted is Paretologic's XoftSpy. Unfortunately, at least one of the club members thinks it's a safe product.

suzi
Premium
join:2004-05-01

reply to Ctrl Alt Del
There is some info about Casale Media and SpywareStormer here:

»www.spywarewarrior.com/viewtopic···t=casale

and

»www.webhelper4u.com/scams/spywar···mer.html

Webhelper connected Casale Media with Walt "picklejar" Rines, but I'm not sure if the basis for that was confirmed.
--
aka Suzi, Spyware Warrior
Forums » Up and Running » Security » SecurityOlder versions of TrojanHunter available??? »
« Has anyone seen UDPfloder or  


Sunday, 05-Jul 10:42:34 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 9.5 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.republican-creole
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [146] Biden Unveils Broadband Stimulus
· [95] AT&T: 65,000 SMS Sent Per SECOND
· [91] Compuserve Classic Says Goodnight
· [83] Thomas To Appeal Huge RIAA Fines
· [80] Fourth Of July Open Thread
· [78] Obama Using NSA, AT&T For New Snooping Project
· [71] iPhone 3GS Already Jailbroken
· [67] Verizon: Cut Your Landline To Save Money
· [61] Cable Carriers Miss Tru2Way Deadline
· [60] The Pirate Bay Gets Sold
Most people now reading
· TekSavvy Down [TekSavvy]
· 6 firetrucks at 151 [TekSavvy]
· Symantec executive: dangerous to run free antivirus [Security]
· Best free email accounts? [General Questions]
· [ Professions] Northrend Herbalism and Mining Tracks [World of Warcraft]
· Google Voice Now Allows You To Change Your Number [VOIP Tech Chat]
· wasp problemb [Home Repair & Improvement]
· Fire at Peer 1/151 Front St Last Night [Canadian Broadband]
· DIR-655 1.31 Firmware available [D-Link]
· Maximizing Rogue DPS for 3.1 [World of Warcraft]