  StraitShoot Who Loves Ya Baby? - Theo Kojak Premium join:2003-02-08 Clinton, MA | World's most trusted Antivirus Solution?
I thought that was Symantec...
I found this "Micro" antivirus... Se what they say....
»69.41.173.34/66.221.35/9_microan···ndex.asp |
|
 B Premium,MVM join:2000-10-28
| Where'd you find THIS one? It has basically no Google presence. The "secure" order form goes through ClickBank, the "Customer Support" consists of a mailto link for microantivirus2004@yahoo.com, and the "Terms Of Service" ( »microantivirus.com/terms.asp ) indicates that don't actually make anything.
What the heck is this thing?
-- B -- In a realm outside causality and function |
|
  Zev0 Old Sarge Premium join:2001-08-21 Ocean Park, WA
| reply to StraitShoot said by StraitShoot : I thought that was Symantec...
I found this "Micro" antivirus... Se what they say....
»69.41.173.34/66.221.35/9_microan···ndex.asp
Looks interesting. But I think I'll wait till the guinea pigs give it a try.  -- XP-Pro, Sygate Pro, Avast Pro, Spyblocker, SpyWareStopper, Trojan Hunter, PopTray, Script Sentry |
|
  Acoustimass Premium join:2002-11-07 Canada
1 edit | reply to StraitShoot It's listed on the Rogue/Suspect Anti-Spyware Products & Web Sites "honour roll". 
»www.spywarewarrior.com/rogue_ant···ware.htm |
|
  rstrandb Premium join:2003-04-17 Albany, GA
·Mediacom
| said by Acoustimass : It's listed on the Rogue/Suspect Anti-Spyware Products & Web Sites "honour roll". 
In all fairness, they are on there because little or no information is available about them, not because their product doesn't work. Not saying they aren't scammers, just that nothing has been shown they are. -- Deep thanks to those who defend America from those who would do us harm. |
|
  not quite right I'm not cool enough to be a Mac person
join:2001-06-23 Puyallup, WA
| reply to StraitShoot
 Norton Rip |
I like how they try to rip off Nortons look....nice! |
|
 B Premium,MVM join:2000-10-28
| It's really simple to prove them liars and scam artists.
Just go about refuting these amazing claims for a product no one's heard of (I'm too lazy); of COURSE there are no hot links there:
InfoWorld's Readers
Choice Award
Security Product
Readers Choice:
Security Product of the Year
2003 CNET
Editors Choice Award
PC World World Class
Award, Best Antivirus
100% Satisfaction
Guaranteed








-- B -- In a realm outside causality and function |
|
  habya Premium join:2003-05-29 Huntsville, AL clubs: 
1 edit | said by B : It's really simple to prove them liars and scam artists.
Just go about refuting these amazing claims for a product no one's heard of (I'm too lazy); of COURSE there are no hot links there:
2003 CNET
Editors Choice Award
-- B
You'd think if it got Cnet's Editors Choice Award you would be able to find some form of the product on their site, a trial download, link, or something. All it comes up with is a "sponsored link", the same link you get if you use another search engine and look for "microantivirus".
Edit: Also if you look through their "review" section the Microantivirus program is nowhere to be found. Not that I put much into Cnet's "editors choice" but I think they might just be making claims they may not necessarily be able to back up unless they're getting very technical with their wording. -- HABYA HABYA HABYA TEAR DOWN THE HEM STALKS EAT UP THE OLD MAN AND WOMAN AND CARRY OFF THE LITTLE GIRL MAY YOU DIE ALONE |
|
  EGeezer Summertime - Premium join:2002-08-04 Country!
·Callcentric
·RoadRunner Cable
·AT&T CallVantage
2 edits | reply to StraitShoot Straitshoot turns over a rock, and...
StraitShoot , nice find!
I did a little research to help shed a little light on the product; *click* - *skitter skitter*
First a check on their "awards"
Infoworld, PCWorld, Datamation and CNET's search engines yielded no references to the product despite the logos at the bottom of the home page.
Then a visit to terms of service;
In addition the "terms of service" seem to indicate they wash their hands of the product they're touting. said by TOS at »69.41.173.34/66.221.35/9_microan···erms.asp :
1. Micro Antivirus makes no claim to ownership or proprietary interest in any of the websites and/or software it recommends. We do not re-sell or license software downloaded from other sites. All software is freeware and/or shareware.
Then to "customer support"
Customer support is a mailto to an YAHOO email address of microantivirus2004@yahoo.com - I found no updates, FAQs, knowledge base or other help.
Finally, who are they?
From WHOIS,
Registrant: Mandel Enterprises LTD 24 Tangerine Street Belmopan, none na BZ 613-276-7886
Good luck getting a refund!
My feeling it that it does indeed quack... I wonder if "Ashley" wrote this one too? 
Oh yeh, I sent requests to CNET, Datamation, PCWORLD and INFOWORLD asking them to confirm their award or certification of the product as inferred on the web page. I suggest others do the same. I'm sure the vendor would have no objection to anyone checking with the owners of the logos on the page. 
EG -- edited for typo and sloppiness - also looks like B and habya were doing the same research while I rooted in the mud... ! |
|
  Bubba GIT-R-DONE Premium,MVM join:2002-08-19 Around, Us
·Comcast
| reply to rstrandb Re: World's most trusted Antivirus Solution?
said by rstrandb : In all fairness, they are on there because little or no information is available about them, not because their product doesn't work. Not saying they aren't scammers, just that nothing has been shown they are.
True....but when an individual or company has users jump thru hoops via sites such as 800hosting.com, kount.com, clickbank.net....etc....they are guilty until proven innocent in my book.
Many unsuspecting users surf the net daily and run across sites out for nothing but greed helping sale scams such as....Antivirus software |
|
  Drunkula Premium join:2000-06-12 Denton, TX | reply to StraitShoot Belize, huh? The hotbed of the info security world! LOL... |
|
  tortolitos
@gte.net | reply to StraitShoot I am not so sure about Micro Antivirus. Hey just look at their domain. WAN IP? Well just my opinion. It might just be same as symantec different name |
|
 claudeo
join:2000-02-23 Redmond, WA
| reply to StraitShoot Anyone can claim they're the World's most trusted Antivirus Solution. Heck, my yard is the Worlds's greatest urban wilderness, my shower is the World's greatest research thinktank, my car is the World's greatest transportation system and you, my friend, may be the World's greatest sucker if you believe anything you see on the web. |
|
  EGeezer Summertime - Premium join:2002-08-04 Country!
·Callcentric
·RoadRunner Cable
·AT&T CallVantage
| reply to Bubba Nice find Bubba - Now there's a web page designer I'd avoid if he really believes that stuff is the greatest - recommends XOFTSPY , ADS adwareremover , Spyware nuker . all of whom are high on my list of untrusted "software" . The guy waves the flag on the product page and thumps the bible and touts morality and ethics in his home page »www.wayneharrell.com/ ... -- CJB 11/21/34 - 08/23/04 |
|
  Allnew Premium,MVM join:2003-02-01 Denmark- EU. clubs: | reply to StraitShoot He heh I wouldn't trust this one that's for sure.:) |
|
  rstrandb Premium join:2003-04-17 Albany, GA | reply to StraitShoot Ok guys, I was just playing devil's advocate. Personally i'm a very distrusting person, especially of fly-by-night companies -- Deep thanks to those who defend America from those who would do us harm. |
|
  antdude A Ninja Ant Premium,VIP join:2001-03-25 | reply to StraitShoot [cringes] |
|
  mjmsr Premium join:2001-08-25 Lombard, IL clubs:
| reply to StraitShoot check out their webmaster link.....they also sell penis enlargement products!
Also, check out their "support" link to their yahoo address! as a matter of fact, the webmaster products all have a yahoo address!
too bad we could not bring them down! stealing money from people is against the law....here in the states! |
|
  habya Premium join:2003-05-29 Huntsville, AL clubs: 
| said by mjmsr : check out their webmaster link.....they also sell penis enlargement products!
Also, check out their "support" link to their yahoo address! as a matter of fact, the webmaster products all have a yahoo address!
too bad we could not bring them down! stealing money from people is against the law....here in the states!
Perhaps some tar and feathering is in order??
@ EGeezer, I too just sent some emails to them inquiring about their claims, hopefully it will get taken care of. -- HABYA HABYA HABYA TEAR DOWN THE HEM STALKS EAT UP THE OLD MAN AND WOMAN AND CARRY OFF THE LITTLE GIRL MAY YOU DIE ALONE |
|
 B Premium,MVM join:2000-10-28 | Man I hope you used a disposable address.
They certainly do NOT seem worthy of direct communication.
-- B -- In a realm outside causality and function |
|