 ICGabe
join:2003-09-25 Dallas, TX
| reply to Doctor Olds Re: Purchase the 5200, 5667 Router upgrade - S/A $$$$
Doc, I hate to say this but it seems like this site is not an official Efficient or local ISP firmware distributor.
What you will probably get if you purchase the "router kit" is the one of the router firmwares circulating on the internet (Mexican, French, etc) and some instructions on how to proceed which are freely available on various websites.
This is not a new practice, you can find these router kits for sale on several "ebay like" websites. Take this one for example: »www.mercadolivre.com.br/jm/searc···ateg_id= In between actual modem offers are several router upgrade offers. Check out the pictures that are shown with the offers, they are almost all alike.
The part that makes me real mad is that for the E270 router upgrade they use my FTP utility, which is available free of charge, and they charge uninformed users for this.
Perhaps if Efficient better supported their products instead of pulling firmware upgrades off the market this type of black-market commerce would not exist. |
|
  Doctor Olds I Need A Remedy For What's Ailing Me. Premium,VIP join:2001-04-19 1970 442 W30 clubs:
| Re: Purchase the 5200, 5667 Router upgrade - S/A $
Yes, I know. I was being sarcastic. Or at least I was trying. 
It's a shame that they are stealing your software since I was not aware of that (damn I really hate to hear that. ).
They probably stole all the contents by taking from the posts in this very Forum. Then added all the Firmwares we posted the names about over the last year or so along with the tips and tricks posted by users like yourself and all the others that have helped "for free" here in the Forum.
I hope they rot in a small, dark prison cell one day soon.
Regards,
Doctor Olds |
|
 ICGabe
join:2003-09-25 Dallas, TX
| said by Doctor Olds :Yes, I know. I was being sarcastic. Or at least I was trying.  Sorry, I guess I was to upset to notice 
I just hope that the majority of users are able to realize that these sites are all a scam.
The worst part of it all is that these people don't even contribute to solving the various problems and mysteries that surround these modems, they just want to make a quick buck off others' work. |
|
  NorthWind
join:2003-06-26 ADSL
| The pictures from 5667 that i put in this forum and others are very similar(equal).
 I don't like these type of people who makes money like this way. All the information about these modems may be free. |
|