 edbott join:2005-01-02 Scottsdale, AZ | reply to Transmaster
Re: Adware Installed through WMA Files On the file I tested, the initial connections were to:
hotsearchbar.com www.protectedmedia.com wbpdp.balance.gator.com (gee, what a surprise!) |
|
|
|
 | Ed:
You wrote:
said by edbott:wbpdp.balance.gator.com (gee, what a surprise!) Yup. So much for Claria's "privacy friendly" installation practices. For more info see Ben's latest:
»www.benedelman.org/news/010405-1.html
But Claria has a long history of this consumer-unfriendly nonsense:
»www.benedelman.org/news/112904-1.html
On a related note: the iSearch.com/iDownload.com EULA contained the following clause:
said by iDownload.com: In addition, you further understand and agree, by installing the Software, that iSearch and/or the Software may, without any further prior notice to you, remove, disable or render inoperative other adware programs resident on your computer, which, in turn, may disable or render inoperative, other software resident on your computer, including software bundled with such adware, or have other adverse impacts on your computer.
This is the same license language that Ben wrote about here:
»www.benedelman.org/news/120704-1.html
I'd normally be pleased as punch to allow these jerks to feast on each other. The problem is that hapless consumers happen to be caught in the middle.
Best,
Eric L. Howes |
|
 justinAustralian join:1999-05-28 New York, NY kudos:7 | isn't that EULA amazing? proof right there that they don't expect anyone to read it. Proof that the whole show-accept EULA thing is due to be dragged into the 21st century by a smart class-action lawyer. |
|