  joewesh
join:2000-11-19 Westbury, NY | X-Originating-IP
Can I rely on the X-Originating-IP header to be accurate? |
|
  nwrickert sand groper Premium,MVM join:2004-09-04 Geneva, IL
·AT&T Midwest
| No, you cannot rely on that.
If you receive the mail from hotmail or yahoo, then the top "X-Originating-IP:" appears to be accurate. But I have seen mail with more than one of these headers, and the ones not added by yahoo or hotmail were forged by the spammer.
The basic principle of examining headers: •You can trust headers added by your own server (or your ISP server)•If those headers show that the mail was received from a trusted site (a site that you trust), then you can also rely on the headers added by that trusted site. Be suspicious of anything else. |
|
  Mordy Comfortably Numb Premium,MVM,ExMod 2004-07 join:2001-12-02 Denver, CO
| reply to joewesh An X- entry is a comment that a mail program can insert to the headers. It can contain any text, and thus it can be easily made to create a false X-Originating-IP record in the header. I don't trust the X- record information; the Received: header records contain the actual IP addresses, but fake records and false information can be put in the Received: records as well. -- Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored - Aldous Huxley |
|
 NormanS Premium,MVM join:2001-02-14 San Jose, CA
·Pacific Bell - SBC
| reply to joewesh
said by joewesh :Can I rely on the X-Originating-IP header to be accurate? Maybe yes, maybe no. In every case where you can trust them, you can also trust the Received line which contains the same IP address. Or, should that be the other way around. Here is an example with three X-Headers, of that type, which can be trusted:
Received: from spooler by aosake.net (Mercury/32 v4.01b); 8 May 2005 00:21:52 -0700 X-Envelope-To: Return-path:
Received: from mta807.mail.scd.yahoo.com (66.94.225.147) by aosake.net (Mercury/32 v4.01b) ID MG00018E; 8 May 2005 00:21:48 -0700
X-Yahoo-Forwarded: from ***@pacbell.net to ***@aosake.net X-Rocket-Track: -40 ; IPCR=n-w0,n100,g0 ; IP=64.4.16.194 Authentication-Results: mta807.mail.scd.yahoo.com from=hotmail.com; domainkeys=neutral (no sig) X-Originating-IP: [64.4.16.194] Received: from 207.115.57.80 (EHLO ylpvm49.prodigy.net) (207.115.57.80) by mta807.mail.scd.yahoo.com with SMTP; Sun, 08 May 2005 00:21:34 -0700 X-Originating-IP: [64.4.16.194] Received: from hotmail.com (bay22-dav14.bay22.hotmail.com [64.4.16.194]) by ylpvm49.prodigy.net (8.12.10 083104/8.12.10) with ESMTP id j487LXxk016832 for ; Sun, 8 May 2005 03:21:33 -0400 Received: from mail pickup service by hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC; Sun, 8 May 2005 00:21:33 -0700 Message-ID: Received: from 67.116.50.149 by BAY22-DAV14.phx.gbl with DAV; Sun, 08 May 2005 07:21:32 +0000 X-Originating-IP: [67.116.50.149] X-Originating-Email: [***@hotmail.com] X-Sender: ***@hotmail.com From: "***"
The MSN Hotmail server, "BAY22-DAV14.phx.gbl" added the first one, way down near the bottom. The SBC server, "ylpvm49.prodigy.net" added the middle one. The Yahoo! server, "mta807.mail.scd.yahoo.com", added the top one.
Spammers are also known to add them. Knowing that MSN Hotmail puts them in for the source IP address of the message received by their WebDAV servers, and that SBC and Yahoo! put them in for the IP address of the source MTA connecting to the MX helps. Better, though, to rely on the Received lines, and start working down from the ones added by your mail system. In the case of these headers, the first trusted Received line is at the very top, where aosake.net reports receiving the message from yahoo.com (in bold typeface).
-- Norman ~A deam, dream, no dream ~Voices of the night go across the forest ~A dream, dream, no dream ~Good night my good child |
|
  JimCarver
@co.uk
| I am currently being scammed by a 419 scammer but i know this and am having some fun with them. There is this in the header "X-Originating-Ip: 194.201.99.237" the received is the same. The funny thing is though that i am having contact with a guy in Nigeria and a one in Amsterdam. They both have the same IP address as above. does this mean they are using the same computer? |
|
  nwrickert sand groper Premium,MVM join:2004-09-04 Geneva, IL
·AT&T Midwest
| inetnum: 194.201.99.224 - 194.201.99.239 netname: HORSDIST02 descr: Horsham District Council country: GB admin-c: SF3576-RIPE tech-c: MW20016-RIPE status: ASSIGNED PA mnt-by: AS1849-MNT remarks: Please send abuse notification to abuse@uk.uu.net
|
|
 Jon_Hanson Mountain Dew Rules Premium join:2001-07-09 Gilbert, AZ
| reply to JimCarver said by JimCarver:
I am currently being scammed by a 419 scammer but i know this and am having some fun with them. There is this in the header "X-Originating-Ip: 194.201.99.237" the received is the same. The funny thing is though that i am having contact with a guy in Nigeria and a one in Amsterdam. They both have the same IP address as above. does this mean they are using the same computer? As has been said before in this thread, you really can't trust the X-Originating-IP header. I wouldn't put a lot of faith in that information. |
|