 jakoe420
join:2003-09-05 Knoxville, TN clubs:
1 edit | reply to Keith987 Re: What is careerbuilder.com doing?
said by Keith987:
The reply that you received was, in fact, from careerbuilder. They requested that you submit the information that you have for that company to csi@careerbuilder.com. Double check the email headers from that email and you will see that it did not come from a yahoo address. I'm not sure I understand what you're saying...The reply came from careerbuilder, but why would the reply be "This is not spam"? Can you elaborate on what you're getting at?
Edit: I just got this email, this about solves it I think:
Dear Patrick,
Thank you for contacting Careerbuilder.com. I apologize for any inconvenience, and very much appreciate you sending us this information.
We are dedicated to removing fraudulent companies from our website, and we rely on the help of our customers to do so. At this time, we have shutdown this employer's account and removed their ability to use any of the products and services on our site. We also share information with the FBI, Secret Service, and local law enforcement agencies across the country to send these users through the right channels to be prosecuted.
The original email that you submitted through the website was responded with a note saying "This is not spam". I apologize for the confusion, but we were referring to the response email sent by us and not the message you received from the fraudulent employer.
CareerBuilder Site Integrity Team |
|
  Fobulous Premium join:2002-08-14 Missouri City, TX clubs: | reply to jakoe420 SPamowned |
|
  Keith987
@64.74.x.x
| reply to Greg_Z The reply that you received was, in fact, from careerbuilder. They requested that you submit the information that you have for that company to csi@careerbuilder.com. Double check the email headers from that email and you will see that it did not come from a yahoo address. |
|
  gwion wild colonial boy Premium,ExMod 2001-08 join:2000-12-28 Pittsburgh, PA
| reply to jakoe420 There's also been some publicity regarding spammers who harvest e-mails from resumes, targeting people looking for work with offers involving pyramid scams, work at home offers and so forth. They're spammers. Except that no spammer ever calls himself a spammer. He refers to it as "targeted marketing", or some similar words all full of sound fury and signifying nothing. Careerbuilder's in the business of connecting people looking for jobs with those having jobs needing filled. They're a resume brokerage, a cyber-headhunter, not an employer recruiting for themselves.
Apply the same reasoning you would to an offer you would receive through a headhunter. If you're looking for IT director at a midsize company, you don't even consider some guy who replies to your resume with, "I don't have any openings in the IT department, but I do need people to stuff envelopes at home and earn big money..." If you want to contact careerbuilder directly about it, you should do so through their listed e-mail and/or phone and address. NOT by using the reply to or from field in the suspect e-mails... -- Semper Eadem
I can saw a woman in two But you won't want to look in the box when I do I can make love disappear For my next trick, I'll need a volunteer |
|
 jakoe420
join:2003-09-05 Knoxville, TN clubs:
| reply to pcdebb yeah, it's a pretty common scam, they want you to use your bank account to deposit checks, then they say you get a cut of the money. Of course, the checks you get from them are bogus, so you get screwed. At least I think that's how it's supposed to work.
Careerbuilder never contacted me again, so I don't know what the deal is..Maybe they will contact me tomorrow....Something is strange about the whole thing though |
|
  pcdebb RIP dadkins Premium join:2000-12-03 Tampa, FL clubs: 
| reply to jakoe420 hmmm, i'm confused. I've used careerbuilder, get emails from them all the time, but nothing like the email in the original post. sounds like someone is scamming using the careerbuilder name? I apologize if that was discussed here already, been a long day....
actually, didnt i see the text of an email like this that was associated with a scam? -- babbling | mvm |
|
 jakoe420
join:2003-09-05 Knoxville, TN clubs: | reply to Marilla I guess so. Funny, I just got another email that's exactly the same as the first response I got. "this is not spam".... I need a phone number |
|
  Marilla I Am My Own Arbiter Premium join:2002-12-06 Belpre, OH
| reply to jakoe420 said by jakoe420 :IS careerbuilder LYING to me when they tell me it's not SPAM? That's all I want to know now, if they are I'll never go there again. Or is somebody else pretending to be careerbuilder and tell me that? I think you just got a quick, canned response. I believe what they probably 'meant' to say, (beyond to contact CSI@careerbuilder.com) is that it's not spam from them.
Maybe... still a confusing response. Seems to me they would have said, "This isn't from us", rather than that. -- Windows, Mac, Linux, BSD - just use the right tool for the right job... end the OS Politics! |
|
  SnowyOne Premium join:2003-04-05 Kailua, HI | reply to jakoe420 »www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=de···e+Search This may help you answer your own question. Would I consider it spam? Yes. |
|
  Greg_Z Premium join:2001-08-08 Springfield, IL | reply to jakoe420 What Careerbuilder is telling you to do is contact CSI@careerbuilder.com, which sounds like a canned response. -- One man's customer loyalty is another man's misguided arrogance. |
|
 jakoe420
join:2003-09-05 Knoxville, TN clubs: | reply to SnowyOne IS careerbuilder LYING to me when they tell me it's not SPAM? That's all I want to know now, if they are I'll never go there again. Or is somebody else pretending to be careerbuilder and tell me that? |
|
  SnowyOne Premium join:2003-04-05 Kailua, HI
·RoadRunner Cable
·Clearwire Wireless
| reply to Dantz said by Dantz:
This is a variation on a common scam. In essence, they send you a bad check and you send them back a good one. It seems to be a variation on a 401 scam. They would need your bank info to 'deposit' these funds to. |
|
  Dantz
| reply to jakoe420 This is a variation on a common scam. In essence, they send you a bad check and you send them back a good one. |
|
  Marilla I Am My Own Arbiter Premium join:2002-12-06 Belpre, OH
| reply to jakoe420 said by jakoe420 :So, if a spammer at kc_resum@yahoo.com collected my email address from careerbuilder.com, then spammed me with that BS, how did I get email from careerbuilder/fuze saying that it is not spam? The headers for the response email look OK to me. AM I missing something here? I guess that's what's got me confused here, too -- Windows, Mac, Linux, BSD - just use the right tool for the right job... end the OS Politics! |
|
  Greg_Z Premium join:2001-08-08 Springfield, IL
·Comcast
| reply to jakoe420 If you sent back to Fuze through Careerbuilder.com email addy that they are using, that would be my response. My sentiment is to be careful on what you open or respond to. If you do not know the sender, do not open up. Always scan any attachments or compressed files.
And last but not least, there is always a reaction for every action. -- One man's customer loyalty is another man's misguided arrogance. |
|
 jakoe420
join:2003-09-05 Knoxville, TN clubs:
| reply to Greg_Z So, if a spammer at kc_resum@yahoo.com collected my email address from careerbuilder.com, then spammed me with that BS, how did I get email from careerbuilder/fuze saying that it is not spam? The headers for the response email look OK to me. AM I missing something here? |
|
  Greg_Z Premium join:2001-08-08 Springfield, IL | reply to Marilla Correct Marilla. Spammers use places like Careerbuilder.com to collect email address's so that they can spread their word. -- One man's customer loyalty is another man's misguided arrogance. |
|
 jakoe420
join:2003-09-05 Knoxville, TN clubs:
| reply to jakoe420 All I know is that careerbuilder responded by saying "This is not spam" when clearly, it is. Somehow the Fuze Suite fits in somehow, I guess careerbuilder uses it on their site? I don't understand how they could come right out and deny the spamminess of that email |
|
  Marilla I Am My Own Arbiter Premium join:2002-12-06 Belpre, OH
| reply to jakoe420 Just a question for clarification:
We're talking about spammers USING those web sites to collect e-mail addresses, or otherwise sending spam through the service somehow, right? Not the services themselves actually spamming? -- Windows, Mac, Linux, BSD - just use the right tool for the right job... end the OS Politics! |
|
  Greg_Z Premium join:2001-08-08 Springfield, IL
·Comcast
| reply to jakoe420 Careerbuilder.com and Monster.com is a Spammer's dream. I use America's Job Bank (NO Spam), along with IL Dept. of Employement's website. Another is NationJobs.com. Looking through CareerBuilder, I cannot count on my own fingers and toes the amount of crap that I come across for Pyramid schemes and pure junk.
Since the newspapers are starting to be better at watching the content that goes into the job listings in the daily's, SPAMmers have to go elsewhere, and since these people pay the bills for companies like Monster and Careerbuilder, it will not stop. -- One man's customer loyalty is another man's misguided arrogance. |
|