republican-creole
Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Security » What is careerbuilder.com doing?
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
1937
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
Best Spam Filter for Exchange 2000 »
« Report: Hacker infiltrated government computers  
page: 1 · 2
AuthorAll Replies


Greg_Z
Premium
join:2001-08-08
Springfield, IL
reply to jakoe420
Re: What is careerbuilder.com doing?

What Careerbuilder is telling you to do is contact CSI@careerbuilder.com, which sounds like a canned response.
--
One man's customer loyalty is another man's misguided arrogance.


SnowyOne
Premium
join:2003-04-05
Kailua, HI
reply to jakoe420
»www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=de···e+Search
This may help you answer your own question.
Would I consider it spam? Yes.


Marilla
I Am My Own Arbiter
Premium
join:2002-12-06
Belpre, OH

reply to jakoe420
said by jakoe420 See Profile:

IS careerbuilder LYING to me when they tell me it's not SPAM? That's all I want to know now, if they are I'll never go there again. Or is somebody else pretending to be careerbuilder and tell me that?
I think you just got a quick, canned response. I believe what they probably 'meant' to say, (beyond to contact CSI@careerbuilder.com) is that it's not spam from them.

Maybe... still a confusing response. Seems to me they would have said, "This isn't from us", rather than that.
--
Windows, Mac, Linux, BSD - just use the right tool for the right job... end the OS Politics!

jakoe420

join:2003-09-05
Knoxville, TN
clubs:
I guess so. Funny, I just got another email that's exactly the same as the first response I got. "this is not spam".... I need a phone number


pcdebb
RIP dadkins
Premium
join:2000-12-03
Tampa, FL
clubs:

reply to jakoe420
hmmm, i'm confused. I've used careerbuilder, get emails from them all the time, but nothing like the email in the original post. sounds like someone is scamming using the careerbuilder name? I apologize if that was discussed here already, been a long day....

actually, didnt i see the text of an email like this that was associated with a scam?
--
babbling | mvm

jakoe420

join:2003-09-05
Knoxville, TN
clubs:

yeah, it's a pretty common scam, they want you to use your bank account to deposit checks, then they say you get a cut of the money. Of course, the checks you get from them are bogus, so you get screwed. At least I think that's how it's supposed to work.

Careerbuilder never contacted me again, so I don't know what the deal is..Maybe they will contact me tomorrow....Something is strange about the whole thing though


gwion
wild colonial boy
Premium,ExMod 2001-08
join:2000-12-28
Pittsburgh, PA

reply to jakoe420
There's also been some publicity regarding spammers who harvest e-mails from resumes, targeting people looking for work with offers involving pyramid scams, work at home offers and so forth. They're spammers. Except that no spammer ever calls himself a spammer. He refers to it as "targeted marketing", or some similar words all full of sound fury and signifying nothing. Careerbuilder's in the business of connecting people looking for jobs with those having jobs needing filled. They're a resume brokerage, a cyber-headhunter, not an employer recruiting for themselves.

Apply the same reasoning you would to an offer you would receive through a headhunter. If you're looking for IT director at a midsize company, you don't even consider some guy who replies to your resume with, "I don't have any openings in the IT department, but I do need people to stuff envelopes at home and earn big money..." If you want to contact careerbuilder directly about it, you should do so through their listed e-mail and/or phone and address. NOT by using the reply to or from field in the suspect e-mails...
--
Semper Eadem

I can saw a woman in two
But you won't want to look in the box when I do
I can make love disappear
For my next trick, I'll need a volunteer


Keith987

@64.74.x.x

reply to Greg_Z
The reply that you received was, in fact, from careerbuilder. They requested that you submit the information that you have for that company to csi@careerbuilder.com. Double check the email headers from that email and you will see that it did not come from a yahoo address.


Fobulous
Premium
join:2002-08-14
Missouri City, TX
clubs:
reply to jakoe420
SPamowned

jakoe420

join:2003-09-05
Knoxville, TN
clubs:


1 edit
reply to Keith987
said by Keith987:

The reply that you received was, in fact, from careerbuilder. They requested that you submit the information that you have for that company to csi@careerbuilder.com. Double check the email headers from that email and you will see that it did not come from a yahoo address.
I'm not sure I understand what you're saying...The reply came from careerbuilder, but why would the reply be "This is not spam"? Can you elaborate on what you're getting at?

Edit: I just got this email, this about solves it I think:

Dear Patrick,

Thank you for contacting Careerbuilder.com. I apologize for any inconvenience, and very much appreciate you sending us this information.

We are dedicated to removing fraudulent companies from our website, and we rely on the help of our customers to do so. At this time, we have shutdown this employer's account and removed their ability to use any of the products and services on our site. We also share information with the FBI, Secret Service, and local law enforcement agencies across the country to send these users through the right channels to be prosecuted.

The original email that you submitted through the website was responded with a note saying "This is not spam". I apologize for the confusion, but we were referring to the response email sent by us and not the message you received from the fraudulent employer.

CareerBuilder Site Integrity Team
Forums » Up and Running » Security » SecurityBest Spam Filter for Exchange 2000 »
« Report: Hacker infiltrated government computers  
page: 1 · 2


Friday, 04-Dec 16:26:09 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [163] Comcast Releasing Promised Usage Meter
· [145] Avast Antivirus Has Gone Mad
· [122] Comcast Makes NBC Universal Acquisition Official
· [104] Graduate Student Unveils Sprint's GPS Sharing With Feds
· [101] Google Invades ISP, OpenDNS Turf With Google Public DNS
· [81] Latest Consumer Reports Survey Not Kind To AT&T
· [80] FCC Ponders Moving From PSTN To IP Voice
· [74] Sprint Defuses GPS Privacy Media Bomb
· [70] Baltimore To Ban Lazy Cable Installs
· [64] Broadband Killed The Game Console
Most people now reading
· False positive in Avast! or is it real? [Security]
· Maximizing Rogue DPS for ToC/ToGC (3.x) [World of Warcraft]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]
· IMG 1.7 (IMG Updates and Discussion) [Verizon FIOS TV]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· Long ethernet runs [Wireless Service Providers]
· Warrior tank seem underpowered these days [World of Warcraft]
· Connecting to Google Voice Via SIP [VOIP Tech Chat]
· DNS options, what are YOU using? [TekSavvy]
· Microsoft actively urges IE 6 users to upgrade [Security]