Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters » [spammer hunt] Hotmail spam all has MX as part of address
Uniqs:
289
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
X-Originating-IP »
« Firetrust Problems?  

plk
bo may sleep in loft
Premium
join:2002-04-20
Ogden, IA

[spammer hunt] Hotmail spam all has MX as part of address

I have noticed almost all my spam on hotmail all has MX as part of it's domain. I suppose the spammer uses it to track. The rest of the domain changes, but always has mx as part of it. Why hasn't hotmail caught on to this and used it to trace it or block it.

Are you folks seeing this?
--
Thermaltake 2000a/Asus P4C-e/p4 3.4/ocz3500 2x512/WD.2x200g/raptor2x74 raid 0/ATI 9600/APC sua 1500/Logitech z-680/ Samsung 213t LCD/MX 1000

pleekmo
Triptoe Through The Tulips
Premium
join:2001-09-14
Manchester, CT
clubs:

Re: [spammer hunt] Hotmail spam all has MX as part

Have you checked to make sure that MX is part of the domain of legitimate e-mail as well?

For instance, here is a "Received" line from one of my pieces of legitimate e-mail:

from imo-d06.mx.aol.com (imo-d06.mx.aol.com [205.188.157.38]) by flpvm23.prodigy.net (8.12.10 083104/8.12.10) with ESMTP id j3TL7hLn028371 for ; Fri, 29 Apr 2005 14:07:47 -0700

If I recall correctly, "MX" refers to a mail server.

If even legitimate e-mail contains "MX" then obviously you cannot use this string to filter for spam.

plk
bo may sleep in loft
Premium
join:2002-04-20
Ogden, IA

Re: [spammer hunt] Hotmail spam all has MX as part of address

Oh, thank you. I did not know MX was part of a string. I had not noticed it in other e-mails from the past. damn the bad luck. If I get more, I will post them just to see if others are getting these same variations.
--
Thermaltake 2000a/Asus P4C-e/p4 3.4/ocz3500 2x512/WD.2x200g/raptor2x74 raid 0/ATI 9600/APC sua 1500/Logitech z-680/ Samsung 213t LCD/MX 1000

DrStrange
Technically feasible
Premium
join:2001-07-23
West Hartford, CT
MX = Mail eXchanger
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and PhishbustersX-Originating-IP »
« Firetrust Problems?  


Sunday, 06-Dec 01:28:30 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.republican-creole
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [163] Comcast Releasing Promised Usage Meter
· [147] Avast Antivirus Has Gone Mad
· [128] Comcast Makes NBC Universal Acquisition Official
· [123] The Bandwidth Hog Does Not Exist
· [105] Graduate Student Unveils Sprint's GPS Sharing With Feds
· [101] Google Invades ISP, OpenDNS Turf With Google Public DNS
· [85] FCC Ponders Moving From PSTN To IP Voice
· [82] Latest Consumer Reports Survey Not Kind To AT&T
· [80] New Bill Aims To Limit ETFs
· [75] Sprint Defuses GPS Privacy Media Bomb
Most people now reading
· False positive in Avast! or is it real? [Security]
· Connecting to Google Voice Via SIP [VOIP Tech Chat]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]
· Using AirMax to provide triple play services? [Wireless Service Providers]
· First commercial tool to crack BitLocker arrives (Updated) [Security]
· [How to] Install Asterisk on an Asus WL-520GU router [VOIP Tech Chat]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· What is the spell hit cap for a lvl 80 full arcane spec mage [World of Warcraft]
· [Newsgroups] Newzleech down? [Filesharing Software]
· [DNS] Google's public DNS... performance increases? [Comcast HSI]