Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Adware Vendor Hotbar Worried About Image » They Should Be WORRIED About Their Image!
Search Topic:
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Post a:
Post a:
« Now this really bothers me  
AuthorAll Replies

GooglinAbout

join:2005-03-27
Jacksonville, FL

 reply to damox
NO, Hotbar is NOT a Microsoft Business Partner

Regarding RBFA's comment: "Can someone check to see if Hotbar ("official Microsoft Business Partner") ..."

NO NO NO.. Hotbar is NOT a Microsoft Business Partner and there is no where this is even indicated. Hotbar uses the "Microsoft Certified Partner" logo, which ANYONE can use if they are capable of programming software and ask for the cert from Micrsoft. It is clearly stated on Microsoft's Certified Partner site area that they do NOT support sites that display this, as follows:

Disclaimer for a Microsoft Certified Parnter:

The partners listed in the Microsoft Resource Directory are part of the Microsoft Partner Program, however Microsoft does not endorse any of the partners or their software, solutions, services and training listed on this site. Microsoft disclaims any and all liability arising out of your use of the partners, software, solutions, services and training listed on the site. All software, solutions, services and training are provided “as is” and without warranty unless provided by the authoring partner.

Hotbar (and a few other well known adware/spyware programs) "proudly" display this logo hoping to fool people into thinking Microsoft somehow endorses their product. For those that have been following Hotbar and its tactics, you will recall that for years they advertised as an "Update to Outlook" which they are not, and never have been. Recently that was changed to "Update your email" which in my opinion is still misleading since they are not an update at all and the wording is used for one reason... to make people think they need to update since every where you turn you hear.. Update! Stay protected! Keep your computer secure.. Update! Update! What a shame these people are even in business.

bedelman
Premium
join:2004-06-20
Cambridge, MA


1 edit
reply to GooglinAbout
More on the MS-Hotbar relationship

GooglinAbout, can you give a URL for the text you quote? I'd like to link to it from my piece.

In »www.benedelman.org/spyware/insta···405.html , I explain my sense of the meaning of the MS "Certified Partner" logo -- precisely matching what you describe. But I couldn't readiliy find the disclaimer you reference.


Reddock

@rr.com

»www.microsoft.com/learning/mcpex···logo.asp

It specifically forbids software developers from displaying the logo to make it appear that the software is somehow endorsed by Microsoft, or that the software developer is affiliated with Microsoft. Hotbar strikes out on both.

Reddock

bedelman
Premium
join:2004-06-20
Cambridge, MA

compliance with MS logo guidelines

Good find! I've updated »www.benedelman.org/spyware/insta···405.html with a new fifth paragraph that may be of interest. Lots of fine print in the logo usage guidelines, and it looks like Hotbar didn't read it all (or in any event didn't care to comply).
Forums » Adware Vendor Hotbar Worried About Image« Now this really bothers me  


Saturday, 05-Dec 00:32:58 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.republican-creole
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [163] Comcast Releasing Promised Usage Meter
· [145] Avast Antivirus Has Gone Mad
· [126] Comcast Makes NBC Universal Acquisition Official
· [104] Graduate Student Unveils Sprint's GPS Sharing With Feds
· [101] Google Invades ISP, OpenDNS Turf With Google Public DNS
· [83] FCC Ponders Moving From PSTN To IP Voice
· [81] Latest Consumer Reports Survey Not Kind To AT&T
· [78] The Bandwidth Hog Does Not Exist
· [74] Sprint Defuses GPS Privacy Media Bomb
· [70] Baltimore To Ban Lazy Cable Installs
Most people now reading
· False positive in Avast! or is it real? [Security]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]
· Farewell [Bell Canada]
· ToC 4th boss - Preliminary Strategy for Twin Valkyr [World of Warcraft]
· DNS options, what are YOU using? [TekSavvy]
· Google takes aim at browser redirection [Security]
· UPS - What do you people think happened? [General Questions]
· IPComms Free DIDs now with sip registration maybe?? [VOIP Tech Chat]
· RG Firmware update to VDSL2 this morning [AT&T U-verse]