 merlin803
join:2002-08-16 Redford, MI
| Unable to send email to *sbcglobal.net domain
My company has been unable to send email to any *.Sbcglobal.net domain email address for a couple of weeks (including to my home SBC account).
We get the following message whenever we try: "A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:
xxxxxxxx@sbcglobal.net retry time not reached for any host after a long failure period"
Now, I receive emails at home from others, outside of my company just fine. I also have verified that it is not just my email address that can't be sent to - it is any *Sbcglobal.net address.
Could my work IP address have been blacklisted? Any other suggestions/explanations? -- Athlon 64 3200Asus K8VSEDX MotherboardCorsair 512MB 3200C2WD SE 80GB ATA/100 7200RPMRadeon 9700 PROLiteOn 48x24x48 CDRW |
|
  Greg_Z Premium join:2001-08-08 Springfield, IL
·Comcast
·Vonage
·Insight Communicat..
| Settings should be "pop.sbcglobal.yahoo.com/smtp.sbcglobal.yahoo.com" for your email program. I have not had problems sending or receiving through the above, and the server ports are 25,110. -- One man's customer loyalty is another man's misguided arrogance. |
|
  RadioDoc Sortofadog Premium,ExMod 2000-03 join:2000-05-11 Chicago, IL | reply to merlin803 Whose mail server is that error message coming from? SBC's or your company's? |
|
 merlin803
join:2002-08-16 Redford, MI
| reply to Greg_Z I assume your talking about what the settings should be if you were using an email program at home to retrieve your Sbcglobal email?
My problem is that from my company, no emails that are sent to any *.Sbcglobal.net email address will sucessfully go through.
As if my company is prevented by SBC from sending them emails. -- Athlon 64 3200Asus K8VSEDX MotherboardCorsair 512MB 3200C2WD SE 80GB ATA/100 7200RPMRadeon 9700 PROLiteOn 48x24x48 CDRW |
|
  chachster Premium join:2002-08-07 Westerville, OH clubs:  | As Doc also asked, is that error coming from your company's email server? It may be something on the company's email server that is unable to lookup or route the email properly. |
|
 merlin803
join:2002-08-16 Redford, MI
| The actual message is generated by my companies email server after the email has failed to be delivered.
If it is a problem with my companies email server, it is only a problem for connecting/sending to SBC's domain as we have hundred's of emails going out a day with no problems. |
|
  djtim21 It's all good Premium join:2003-12-22 Buffalo Grove, IL clubs:
| said by merlin803 :The actual message is generated by my companies email server after the email has failed to be delivered. If it is a problem with my companies email server, it is only a problem for connecting/sending to SBC's domain as we have hundred's of emails going out a day with no problems. This may be just an issue with your companies e-mail server. It can be a DNS issue (either internal, or an external server which they do look ups with) or the SBC domain names or IP addresses may have been blocked. -- "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing. - Edmund Burke |
|
 merlin803
join:2002-08-16 Redford, MI | I am thinking that we may have been been blacklisted as I was able to use a backup email server and it went through fine (coming from a different IP address...) |
|
  Dennis Premium,Mod join:2001-01-26 Algonquin, IL | hard to say if that's the case...there must be more details you could provide. There's nothing here in this thread to draw a solid conclusion from. |
|
 merlin803
join:2002-08-16 Redford, MI
| Sorry, at this point I am not privy to all of the details (relay settings...etc).
I just know that my company did not have a problem sending emails to the SBCGlobal domain before about 2 weeks ago and now no emails from my company will go through to any email in this domain.
As far as I know, none of the email server settings have been changed during this time (and emails to everyone else are going through fine).
I guess I was just wondering if anyone else had encountered this. But, it is starting to like like this is our problem. Obviously, we have to do some more investigation on our side. |
|
  djtim21 It's all good Premium join:2003-12-22 Buffalo Grove, IL clubs:
| said by merlin803 :Sorry, at this point I am not privy to all of the details (relay settings...etc). Honestly if you don't know what your relay settings are, then you don't know if anything has changed at your front end servers (spam filter changes, IP black list changes, Domain name blacklist changes).
I have done changed where the users were unaware of the change for a few weeks. I remember a time where I black listed "Google" just for fun, to even see if anyone used it. It took 3 weeks before someone said "I can't get to google - The internet is down!" 
Just thought I would share that funny with you  -- "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing. - Edmund Burke |
|
 merlin803
join:2002-08-16 Redford, MI | The reason I said that nothing had changed is that the one person who makes the changes swears that nothing has been changed (but who knows..) |
|