republican-creole
Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters » strange email- Birthday please
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
235
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
Is this site fake? »
« Rizler spam king to get day in Federal Court  
AuthorAll Replies


norwegian
Premium
join:2005-02-15
Outback
·WestNet Broadband


1 edit
strange email- Birthday please

gday all

not sure if its here or security it needs to be

i just got this email , its not anyone i know, but being that there is a link in it, can someone check it out for me please

move to its proper place mods, im not sure where to ask the question

From: Joy Cook Add Address
Subject: Birthday please
Date: Wed, 6 Jul 2005 00:05:05 +0000 (GMT)
To: norwegian
Attachments: 0 Printer Friendly Version

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi

Click on the link below and please enter your birthday for me. I am creating a birthday list of all my friends and family.

»www.BirthdayAlarm.com/bd2/477390···8518d904

Many thanks
Joy


nwrickert
sand groper
Premium,MVM
join:2004-09-04
Geneva, IL
·AT&T U-Verse
·AT&T Midwest

Re: strange email

Sometimes people make mistakes, and think they are sending to somebody they know.

I would ignore this for now. The chances are that this is not part of a widespread scam.

Hmm. I suggest you edit your title line, and change it to "Birthday please". That will make it more informative in case other have similar experiences they want to add to the thread (i.e. if it is part of a scam).


norwegian
Premium
join:2005-02-15
Outback
·WestNet Broadband

reply to norwegian
gday nwrickert

i dont have access to edit anymore for the post, so im not sure how to go about changing the title, maybe the mods can do it if you think changing the name is worth while

did you click on the link at all, i havent as i realise the implications if it isnt a correct link


nwrickert
sand groper
Premium,MVM
join:2004-09-04
Geneva, IL
·AT&T U-Verse
·AT&T Midwest

If you decide you want to change the subject line, then click on the "hey mods" at the end of your article (the first post) and ask moderators to change.

Yes, I clicked on your link. It looked rather benign to me. It reminds me of "123greetings.com", and seems to offer somewhat similar services. Personally, I would not use such a site (either the one you posted or 123greetings). I was not impressed when somebody sent me something from 123greetings, and the screen with the electronic greeting card was full of advertisements. Still, there doesn't appear to be anything malicious about those sites.

Granted, I cannot guarantee it is benign. I'm using a mozilla browser on unix, and it is conceivable that it checks browser/system and only acts maliciously for IE on a windows box.

I cannot guess why you would get that from a stranger. It could just be the result of a dumb innocent mistake. Or it could be somebody trying to lure you for some other purpose.


norwegian
Premium
join:2005-02-15
Outback
reply to norwegian
these sites are out there, and i thought it might be a normal one, just one of the idiosyncrasies of the internet


njrichie

join:2001-04-13
Matawan, NJ
·Optimum Online

reply to norwegian
I did receive one of these birthday emails and checked into it. I first did not recognize the person who sent it but I checked into it and found that it was sent by someone that I spoke to a long time ago. I contacted the person who verified that they did send that email through the site.

I did not provide that information simply because there is too much identity thief going on. The site was legit but I was not comfortable providing that information. This site if hacked could be a treasure honey pot of info.


norwegian
Premium
join:2005-02-15
Outback
·WestNet Broadband

reply to norwegian
i ended up opening the link , but didnt seem to get anything weird happen, but considering how many people i get mail from, this one is not from my list, although its not of the bot form either

maybe an email lost in the great internet highway
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and PhishbustersIs this site fake? »
« Rizler spam king to get day in Federal Court  


Monday, 09-Nov 03:48:36 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [156] Cable Uncapper Faces Criminal Charges
· [140] AT&T Sues Verizon Over 3G Ads
· [112] Why Run Fiber When You Can Run Ads That Pretend You Do?
· [109] Comcast Is Simply Getting Huge
· [93] Apple Cooking Up New $30 A Month TV Service?
· [83] Bits Of ACTA Agreement Leaking Out
· [80] Will 'Three Strikes' Come To The United States?
· [78] Verizon To Double Smartphone ETFs?
· [77] Verizon: Droid Tethering Will Cost $30 Extra
· [73] Comcast, NBC Deal Almost Complete
Most people now reading
· Lots of problems lately? [Rogers]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]
· [WIN7] Which Services in Win 7 Have You Turned Off? [Microsoft Help]
· [Rant] Brand New 'Jasper' Xbox360 - RRoD Hardware Failure [Rants, Raves, and Praise]
· Upcoming Games for 2009 [PC gaming GAMES]
· Is Gear Score now the new requirement to get pug invite? [World of Warcraft]
· Connecting to Google Voice Via SIP [VOIP Tech Chat]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· Divorce advice... [General Questions]
· DIR-655 Firmware 1.32NA Beta 1 available [D-Link]